Creole Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very good! I didn't use the cayenne pepper because I don't like it hot. It was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was really good! I LOVE okra and am always looking for good vegetarian dishes to use it in. I didn't have any parsley on hand so I omitted that and I also used Tony Chachere's cajun seasoning. I served it over white rice as a full meal. I think next time I will double the recipe so I have more leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
First time I've ever cooked okra. This was WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was a great way to cook okra. I sometimes have issues with okra's slimy texture but not with this recipe!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Just OK. Rather Blah. Need A Good Okra Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I made this using red pepper and a can of tomato's that also had oregano and basil in it. Wow it turned out so well... oh and added Tabasco of course! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Very yummy! I love spicy food, and this was definitely spicy and full of flavor. I didn't have enough juice from the diced tomatoes, so I added a little bit of spicy V8 at the end, and it went over well. My super picky "meat-or-bust" boyfriend even liked it. I think I'll put it over some white rice next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is a good creoled okra recipe. I was born and raised in Louisiana and this is almost how we would make it. I make mine in a slow cooker to make it even easier- just chop and heat. (Short on time.) I add basil, thyme, and Tony Chachere's Cajun Seasoning (instead of salt and pepper-it gives it more of a kick.) I just add to taste. My great aunt used to make this a lot and she used a cast iron skillett. If you have one do use it. It adds to the flavor, plus it adds iron to the diet. I use one when I'm not in a hurry and it is well worth the effort. Plus the cast iron burns off the slimeness of the okra. My aunt never once had slimey okra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrankiAndPaul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I loved this recipe! I added ground turkey and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katjastar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Needs more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States