Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
This is not creole gumbo. The secret to ceole gumgo is the roux. It has to be very dark, reddish brown. If it is not brown enough it changes the whole taste and it is not creole gumbo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Used andouille sausage and kicked it up with 1 tsp cayanne. Added some okra when I added spices. Great over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
being from southeast Louisiana I can say that I have eaten most every type of gumbo..except this one. It takes the taste of shrimp and adds chicken to it. It was a nice change and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Taking other's advice, I browned my chicken, set it aside made the roux(cook & stir flour & butter until light brown) added veggies plus 2 garlic cloves, let them cook a few minutes then added chicken, sausage and broth let cook 40 min add shrimp cook 1 hour. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
The gumbo was great but I changed a lot about the recipe to get it that way which is why I rate this 3 stars. I did boil the chicken with the onion, bell pepper and salted water. However, I only used two large chicken breast halves with the skin. I only boiled it for about twenty minutes. I took out the chicken, pulled off skin and bones. I put the skin and bones back into the pot and allowed to boil for another 20 minutes. I shredded the chicken. Then I drained the broth but reserved it (its chicken broth, I'm not throwing it away!) I made the roux and let it turn a deep reddish brown. I then added the chicken, sausage, onions & bell peppers and I used the broth I had made instead of water. This got and thick. I then added the shrimp, seasonings and I added a ton of Old Bay Seasoning! Its very good, I'm eating right now on top of steamed rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I had left over sausage and left over chicken in the fridge. Found this recipe, scaled it for four servings instead of eight and made it for dinner...delish! I used chicken stock instead of water and added some garlic powder to the roux. As I have a toddler in the family, I halved the amount of cajun spice. I thought I had shrimp in the freezer but found bay scallops instead. I think almost any combo of meats would work. This recipe is a keeper for those fridays when it's time to clean out leftovers in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
The cooking time is to long. The chicken becomes very stringy after 1 1/2 hours on low and then you add shrimp and cook an additional 1 hour. Talk about tough shrimp. Then the directions didn't explain about making a roux. I took mine to a mohagany color; which took an additional 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This is a great tasting recipe! I used the chicken stock created when I boiled the chicken and vegetables (in place of the water). And I also added one 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes.My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This was great. I can't believe I forgot to debone the chicken before making the gumbo!!! Nobody cared though, it was THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2000
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States