Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2000
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This was great. I can't believe I forgot to debone the chicken before making the gumbo!!! Nobody cared though, it was THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Used andouille sausage and kicked it up with 1 tsp cayanne. Added some okra when I added spices. Great over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
being from southeast Louisiana I can say that I have eaten most every type of gumbo..except this one. It takes the taste of shrimp and adds chicken to it. It was a nice change and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
This is not creole gumbo. The secret to ceole gumgo is the roux. It has to be very dark, reddish brown. If it is not brown enough it changes the whole taste and it is not creole gumbo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
Now this recipe will become a regular feature at our house! DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
Didn't have file powder. Added hot sauce, cayenne and cajun seasoning. Also used chicken broth instead of water. Served over brown rice. Makes a lot. Was good but I will stick with my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I had left over sausage and left over chicken in the fridge. Found this recipe, scaled it for four servings instead of eight and made it for dinner...delish! I used chicken stock instead of water and added some garlic powder to the roux. As I have a toddler in the family, I halved the amount of cajun spice. I thought I had shrimp in the freezer but found bay scallops instead. I think almost any combo of meats would work. This recipe is a keeper for those fridays when it's time to clean out leftovers in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
The cooking time is to long. The chicken becomes very stringy after 1 1/2 hours on low and then you add shrimp and cook an additional 1 hour. Talk about tough shrimp. Then the directions didn't explain about making a roux. I took mine to a mohagany color; which took an additional 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
Delicious I added eggs to some of my servings, very rich meal as most gumbo is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States