Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
The gumbo was great but I changed a lot about the recipe to get it that way which is why I rate this 3 stars. I did boil the chicken with the onion, bell pepper and salted water. However, I only used two large chicken breast halves with the skin. I only boiled it for about twenty minutes. I took out the chicken, pulled off skin and bones. I put the skin and bones back into the pot and allowed to boil for another 20 minutes. I shredded the chicken. Then I drained the broth but reserved it (its chicken broth, I'm not throwing it away!) I made the roux and let it turn a deep reddish brown. I then added the chicken, sausage, onions & bell peppers and I used the broth I had made instead of water. This got and thick. I then added the shrimp, seasonings and I added a ton of Old Bay Seasoning! Its very good, I'm eating right now on top of steamed rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Taking other's advice, I browned my chicken, set it aside made the roux(cook & stir flour & butter until light brown) added veggies plus 2 garlic cloves, let them cook a few minutes then added chicken, sausage and broth let cook 40 min add shrimp cook 1 hour. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
This is great. My wife does not like anything remotely cajun/creole. She ate this up. It is not what I think of when I think "gumbo" but it is very good nonetheless. I put my chicken in a turkey fryer and boiled it on high heat for about 30mins. Deboned and tossed it in my roux. I simmered for around 40 minutes and it was done. I did not do the lengthy simmer time. I used crawfish instead of shrimp. I put those in at the end after doing a saute with cajun spice. Wife wouldn't eat it with the tails(or shrimp) so i did it that way and put them in my alone. Served over rice. It was great. The family (kids included) say its a keeper. Thank you for the recipe! I think next time I may toss in some oysters :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
Delicious I added eggs to some of my servings, very rich meal as most gumbo is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
The cooking time is to long. The chicken becomes very stringy after 1 1/2 hours on low and then you add shrimp and cook an additional 1 hour. Talk about tough shrimp. Then the directions didn't explain about making a roux. I took mine to a mohagany color; which took an additional 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I had left over sausage and left over chicken in the fridge. Found this recipe, scaled it for four servings instead of eight and made it for dinner...delish! I used chicken stock instead of water and added some garlic powder to the roux. As I have a toddler in the family, I halved the amount of cajun spice. I thought I had shrimp in the freezer but found bay scallops instead. I think almost any combo of meats would work. This recipe is a keeper for those fridays when it's time to clean out leftovers in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
Didn't have file powder. Added hot sauce, cayenne and cajun seasoning. Also used chicken broth instead of water. Served over brown rice. Makes a lot. Was good but I will stick with my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
Now this recipe will become a regular feature at our house! DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
This is not creole gumbo. The secret to ceole gumgo is the roux. It has to be very dark, reddish brown. If it is not brown enough it changes the whole taste and it is not creole gumbo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
being from southeast Louisiana I can say that I have eaten most every type of gumbo..except this one. It takes the taste of shrimp and adds chicken to it. It was a nice change and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States