Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Very filling, but took more time to prepare than expected, and not really a gumbo. Taste was fine, but not what we expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Add garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
The recipe was a great starting place and enabled me to make it my own. I used red bell peppers in place of green bell peppers. Chorizo sausage both fresh and smoked and rock shrimp. I used boneless and skinless chicken thighs. Spices included Aleppo Chili peppers, oregano, Tabasco and habanero pepper sauce. I served it over red rice and topped it with fresh diced avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This is a great tasting recipe! I used the chicken stock created when I boiled the chicken and vegetables (in place of the water). And I also added one 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes.My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I "test drove this" this recipe and found it exceptional! The second time around I decided to modify it a little using some Christmas dinner leftovers. I didn't have any chicken, but had One pound of smoked pork and beef sausage.Added 6 med. potatoes, 2 onions diced, 4 pieces celery, 4 carrots,and the following spices. 1 Tbl.sp. chili powder, 1 Tbl.sp. Cayene, 2 Tbl.sp. garlic, 4 bay leaves,salt and ground pepper to taste. I followed the directions by Kara. Great!! This is a keeper!! Thanks Kara for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrol J. Unruh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
i tuned this recipe up by using red beans to thicken the soup up a bit. then, added gumbo file, okra, and some tony chacherie. after that it was so good it made me wanna slap my momma! it was so good! cher!compraw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I made this for the first time for some friends yesterday, and it was a sensation. Even my British friend who had never even heard of gumbo, said its was "fantastic". I adjusted things slightly as Jenna advised. I boiled checken according to recipe, kept broth for simmering. I added Old Bay to my roux, added the chicken (shredded), and the rest of the ingredients together, covered and simmered for 30 mins. Served over rice. Word has already spread to other friends. I think I may have created a monster. Thanks from a novice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I made this without the chicken thighs. I browned the diced chicken breasts in olive oil, and added the onion and bell pepper. I let it all simmer for about 45 mins in total (threw the shrimp in about 15 mins from the end). It turned out great - very satisfying and flavorfull. Thank you! - but the recipe needs to be much clearer on how to make the roux, and 2 1/2 hours of simmering time is completely excessive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I had messed up another recipe and was looking in 'allrecipes.com' for a way to rescue our dinner, and used this as the basis, and it worked out fine and we're still married. Instead of using water for the 2nd part of the recipe, I used a box of low sodium chicken broth to good effect, coming out with a nice, thick, gravy-like liquid. I also didn't have shrimp, so didn't need to use the final hour of simmering (after all, the initial 40 min. of boiling plus the next 1 1/2 hrs. more than cooked that fowl) but did add already cooked rice (Chinese leftovers, what can I say?) to the chicken and sausage until the rice was thoroughly reheated. Probably should have just reheated the rice and put the dish over that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
The gumbo was great but I changed a lot about the recipe to get it that way which is why I rate this 3 stars. I did boil the chicken with the onion, bell pepper and salted water. However, I only used two large chicken breast halves with the skin. I only boiled it for about twenty minutes. I took out the chicken, pulled off skin and bones. I put the skin and bones back into the pot and allowed to boil for another 20 minutes. I shredded the chicken. Then I drained the broth but reserved it (its chicken broth, I'm not throwing it away!) I made the roux and let it turn a deep reddish brown. I then added the chicken, sausage, onions & bell peppers and I used the broth I had made instead of water. This got and thick. I then added the shrimp, seasonings and I added a ton of Old Bay Seasoning! Its very good, I'm eating right now on top of steamed rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States