Creole Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Reduced butter to 1 T., cut bacon in half, omitted cayenne and doubled Cajun seasoning. Very very good. Will repeat. Paired with grilled chicken with Dinosaur BBQ Creole Honey Mustard sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This recipe tastes absolutely great! I love the flavor. My husband and I fought over who got the last of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I had to leave out the bacon, onion and bell pepper, but we really enjoyed the cajun seasoning. I would definitely use the bacon and onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
These were really pretty darned good and a far cry from plain old cooked frozen green beans. GREAT way to doctor them up, but I can’t imagine using the amount of cayenne pepper called for. I can’t imagine there’s an “asbestos tongue” around that could tolerate that kind of heat! And in our case, I omitted it altogether. I sautéed the bacon, then added red and yellow bell pepper (rather than green) for color, then the garlic. Once that was cooked and seasoned I added the cooked, French-style green beans. I used half the amount of bacon called for and it was plenty. My four star rating is assuming that the directed amount of cayenne will not be included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I consider this recipe a treat because of the bacon. It is very good and is a good substitute for the typical green bean casserole at Thanksgiving. It worked well with the Turducken this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
These are very delicious. I omitted the cayenne and left the salt and pepper for the table. We'll enjoy these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Fantastic!! After the first bite I said I was going to make these again. I will use less butter next time, as advised, but these were so full of taste, it was amazing. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
We love these greenbeans. They're very tasty. If you like more heat add a little more cayenne pepper. Also, you can cut the bacon down to half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Good side dish, did not use the butter b/c bacon had plenty of fat, used cajun spice b/c that's what I had. Many variations of spices can be used with this recipe as a base, will keep subbing and inventing, Thanx for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I didn't have frozen greenbeans so I used canned whole green beans. I topped with the bacon instead of cooking it with it. I thought the green pepper was weird with green beans? Will probably make again but without the green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States