Creole Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These were pretty good. Made to the recipe with the exception of the creole seasoning. I was ready to put it in when I found I didn't have any! So added some paprika, basil, oregano, thyme, garlic powder and some red pepper flakes. I used my frozen green beans which were a little watery as opposed to store green beans so I ended up cooking them a little longer. I think the butter is unneeded in this dish with all the bacon in it. Unless you use just a couple of Tbsp and saute the onions, peppers, and garlic first, then add the beans and bacon. The bacon also could be cut in half. Had a good flavor, wasn't too spicy for us. I will probably make again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
These were really pretty darned good and a far cry from plain old cooked frozen green beans. GREAT way to doctor them up, but I can’t imagine using the amount of cayenne pepper called for. I can’t imagine there’s an “asbestos tongue” around that could tolerate that kind of heat! And in our case, I omitted it altogether. I sautéed the bacon, then added red and yellow bell pepper (rather than green) for color, then the garlic. Once that was cooked and seasoned I added the cooked, French-style green beans. I used half the amount of bacon called for and it was plenty. My four star rating is assuming that the directed amount of cayenne will not be included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Good side dish, did not use the butter b/c bacon had plenty of fat, used cajun spice b/c that's what I had. Many variations of spices can be used with this recipe as a base, will keep subbing and inventing, Thanx for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I started with fresh green beans, so I blanched them while the bacon cooked to not quite crisp(I only used 3 strips.) I sautees the onions, garlic and pepper until the onions were translucent then added the beans and bacon back in. Since I make my own Creole seasoning mix, I added 2 tsp and omitted the cayenne,salt and pepper. The butter was unnecessary doing it this way and the dish was flavorful, the vegetables tender crisp. This is a nice change from our usual green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I consider this recipe a treat because of the bacon. It is very good and is a good substitute for the typical green bean casserole at Thanksgiving. It worked well with the Turducken this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
These are very delicious. I omitted the cayenne and left the salt and pepper for the table. We'll enjoy these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
We love these greenbeans. They're very tasty. If you like more heat add a little more cayenne pepper. Also, you can cut the bacon down to half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Spicy and fattening, but good! I did not add the extra pepper or cayenne pepper, I only used the creole seasoning (I made "Creole Seasoning Blend" from this site). It was plenty spicy. I also did not add any salt. The butter, bacon, onion and garlic mixture smelled heavenly while cooking! I think you could get by with decreasing the butter by half to reduce the fat in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Fantastic!! After the first bite I said I was going to make these again. I will use less butter next time, as advised, but these were so full of taste, it was amazing. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I didn't have frozen greenbeans so I used canned whole green beans. I topped with the bacon instead of cooking it with it. I thought the green pepper was weird with green beans? Will probably make again but without the green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States