Creole Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Pretty much did what Bigshotsmom did. Used fresh gb's and sauteed the onions, garlic and peppers first then added the gb's and only cooked a couple more minutes until they were cooked but still crispy. Then added the bacon in last. I also think the creole has enough heat on it's own and the cayenne is a little un-needed, but that's just IMO. Great recipe all together though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This is a very nice side dish. I used fresh haricot verts and sauteed them in olive oil with my onion, bacon, and garlic, then added diced red pepper (what I had on hand and I like a little color contrast) and creole seasoning. I used about 1/4 teaspoon of cayene based on the previous reviews. They were very tasty. A great side dish for summer grilling recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I started with fresh green beans, so I blanched them while the bacon cooked to not quite crisp(I only used 3 strips.) I sautees the onions, garlic and pepper until the onions were translucent then added the beans and bacon back in. Since I make my own Creole seasoning mix, I added 2 tsp and omitted the cayenne,salt and pepper. The butter was unnecessary doing it this way and the dish was flavorful, the vegetables tender crisp. This is a nice change from our usual green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
These taste incredibly awesome! However, they do NOT need that extra cayenne if you use a Creole seasoning that already has it, it was super spicy- but, to be fair, I was given a warning :) I will make this again, because it's delicious- but next time no extra cayenne for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These were pretty good. Made to the recipe with the exception of the creole seasoning. I was ready to put it in when I found I didn't have any! So added some paprika, basil, oregano, thyme, garlic powder and some red pepper flakes. I used my frozen green beans which were a little watery as opposed to store green beans so I ended up cooking them a little longer. I think the butter is unneeded in this dish with all the bacon in it. Unless you use just a couple of Tbsp and saute the onions, peppers, and garlic first, then add the beans and bacon. The bacon also could be cut in half. Had a good flavor, wasn't too spicy for us. I will probably make again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Spicy and fattening, but good! I did not add the extra pepper or cayenne pepper, I only used the creole seasoning (I made "Creole Seasoning Blend" from this site). It was plenty spicy. I also did not add any salt. The butter, bacon, onion and garlic mixture smelled heavenly while cooking! I think you could get by with decreasing the butter by half to reduce the fat in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was great! I didn't use the green pepper(my husband doesn't like it). I cut the spices in half and was still too spicy for my kids, but I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is pretty authentic!!! Im from louisiana and.. yeah its good!!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grant, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States