Creole Crab and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This was delicious! I had to omit the jalapeño pepper since I can't handle the spice, but the flavor was fabulous anyway. I added shrimp and the whole pot was gone in a flash. I served it with fresh cornbread. I will make this again for sure. Next time I'm going to try it with fish. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I was hoping for a little bolder flavor; especially with the jalapeños and substitution of seafood stock for 50% of the water. If I make it again, I'll use roasted poblano peppers and jalapeños. Simple enough to make, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Just ok! I love Chef John's recipes but this one did not make the mark and I followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This was really good. I used a red pepper in place of the jalapeno b/c we don't like things too spicy and kids were eating it. I used one can of chicken broth and the rest water for flavor per the video and only a pinch of the cayenne for our taste. Since it is corn season I used fresh corn (7 ears) and it was great, although I might try 8 ears next time. I will try frozen in the winter months. I could not find fresh crab in my town so I had to use a high quality can (Miller Select Special White) 6.5 oz and it was plenty of crab for the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This recipe was okay but kind of bland and it didn't really taste "southern" to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elko, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Cutting back to half on the jalapeno lets the other succulent flavours come through nicely. Fresh crab was the only way to go, especially if you compare pricing to canned crab..you're almost paying the same either way. Made this twice now...once with half the jalapenos, once with what the recipe says. Less is definately better..and still on the spicy side. Also, when fresh corn is in season here I'm going to use grilled corn to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AL J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sidney, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Very bland. I ended up adding chicken bouillon cubes to it and that helped a lot. I also ended up pureeing all the vegetables to give the broth more flavor. There also wasn't enough crab so I added another 4 oz. Next time I will make it with chicken broth instead of water and double the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
The next time I make this, if I do, I won't use a 1/2 cup of jalapenos. That just seemed like heat for the sake of heat. It also buried the paprika & Old Bay. I'll keep it for inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Don't listen to those who used green pepper instead of jalapeno. This recipe is delicious with them. As a matter of fact, it would be inedibly bland without them. I served it with jalapeno cheese cornbread for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I really like this soup. I used fresh dungeness crab and did not feel the peppers masked the flavor. Although, it was a bit to spicy for me, it wasn't for my husband. I will probably use half the amount of jalapeno next time and use some of the other suggestions posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States