Creole Cornbread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This stuffing is awesome! I made it for Thanksgiving. My mother-n-law always made cornbread stuffing every Thanksgiving, and she passed away this year, I wanted to make this for my husband. It is a lot of work but worth it. I chopped all the vegetables, herbs, and garlic & put in a freezer bag the day before (took a full hour since I don't have a food processor) so it was a breeze the next day putting it all together. I was hesitant to use 7 eggs, but it turned out fantastic. I did not stuff the turkey, I just baked it in a greased casserole dish on 350 for about an hour. The flavor is incredible. I cut up the leftover stuffing into squares and wrapped individually in sandwich bags & then put all in a freezer bag. Thanks Kevin. This will become a regular at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
My in-laws loved this so much that they have deemed it the "new Thanksgiving tradition"! Yes, LOTS of chopping to do but well worth it. I saved some time by substituting dried herbs for fresh (1 T fresh = 1 t dried). Cooking the spices in the butter first really allows the flavor to get into every bite of the cornbread. It was a little tricky to fish out the bay leaves after the cornbread went in. Next time, I'll pull them out before adding the cornbread. I made this the night before Thanksgiving, put it in a 9x13 pan, and baked in the oven for an hour or so. It was a great twist on a classic, added a new taste to the meal, and turned out fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I have made this my signature stuffing for Thanksgiving (past 2 yrs);1st time: I made it went by the recipe, 2nd time: I decided to lessen the chicken broth and evaporated milk. My hubby preferred the second version, even though he liked the first one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
We make this stuffing EVERY year!!! It is fabulous. The zing is what makes this stuffing great. If you do not want to make your cornbread from this recipe, we find it easier to use 2 bags of bagged stuffing and 1 bag of cubed stuffing from the grocery store instead and THAT will save lots of time and work. The outcome is incredible. We think you will love too if you are looking to have a not so traditional stuffing that your family will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Excellent! This recipe makes a HUGE amount! I made it much easier by using a box mix for my cornbread (2 boxes for this stuffing). I also added Italian sausage for flavor and because my husband thinks everything is better with sausage! I served this at Thanksgiving this year and was very impressed. It also reheats well. This will be my staple for the years to come. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
i've been using this recipe for three years and just noticed i'd never thanked the creator. we LOVE this, but do cut back on the spices. grandsons tastebuds are too sensitive for all that hot. cut it by about half, but still the finished product is just wonderful. i make it the day before and rewarm in a crockpot. have trouble keeping my family from dipping into the pot before dinner is served. thank goodness this recipe makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d newman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Holiday Island, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
My family has used the same recipe for decades, until now! This is THE BEST stuffing recipe EVER! Not too spicy but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was a good recipe and I will probably make again. May try the cornbread mix next time instead of making the cornbread from scratch. Cut the cayenne in half as others suggested and did not find this to be an overly spicy recipe. I think the amount of wet ingredients (chicken broth & evaporated milk) could be reduced slightly as the stuffing was a bit moist after baking (in the turkey). Also, you can definitely cut this recipe in half! The "makes 10 cups" version made a ton of stuffing! Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNH13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
This is the best! It is a little spicy so if you don't like that, TRY IT ANYWAY! just cut back on the spice a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
this recipe was great. i was a little skeptical at first cause i've never had cornbread stuffing before. i didn't stuff the turkey though. i used it as a side dish. i had to cook it longer so that it would firm up and i wanted to make sure the eggs were done. i baked it in a casserole dish for about an hour longer. this was a huge holiday hit. i would definitely make this again next year. forgot to say that i used store bought cornbread to save time and i only used 5 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States