Creole Cornbread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This has a good flavor but it is a bit too hot for our tastes. I followed the recipe except for using some dried spices vs fresh due to convenience. That may have made a difference. Worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Picayune, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingston, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I love the consistency and all the ingredients. I decided to use prepackaged cornbread mix to save time, and I had to use 3 pouches to get enough cornbread. I also did not use the 7 eggs at the end, just the evaporated milk. I did not use hot sauce, green chili peppers or white pepper and it was still just a little bit too "peppery" for my family. I think next time I will just use the white & black pepper, and a pinch of cayenne pepper. Also, instead of stuffing it in my turkey, I precooked 2 pounds of chicken thighs and used the stock from that for the dressing, and shredded the chicken, added it to the dressing and baked covered with aluminum foil at 350 for 1.5 hours (last 20 minutes uncovered and stirred periodically to get it to brown throughout - this is how my grandmother does it.) I'm from south Louisiana and it reminds me of my grandmother's cornbread dressing. Overall, I love this dressing and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Made this for an early Thanksgiving dinner with the in-laws turned out wonderfully!! Nearly gone by the end of the day snacking. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This stuffing is amazing! I have made it for 2 Thanksgivings so far and everyone loves it. In fact, everytime I run into one person throughout the year he says "I can't wait for Thanksgiving to eat that stuffing!" It's also very good mixed with leftover mac n cheese! :) Thank you to the person who wrote it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I love this recipe and make it every year and everyone loves it. It may not be for those who do not like spicy, but I can't get enough of it. If you are cooking for kids or non spicy eaters then just cut the spicy heat down by half. I don't stuff a turkey with it, I just bake it for about an hour on 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I like it. At first I followed the directions as it called for originally. It was good, really spicy and all the eggs gave it a solid textured. After that, I modified it too fit my family. I don't use milk, I used chicken broth, cut the eggs down to 1 or 2 (depending on how big my pan is), omitted the spices, used a dash of cayenne pepper and that was it. I have small children, they can't handle spicy foods. Made my own cornbread and didn't use the buttermilk either. I pretty much used this recipe for it's seasoning. I like the original version, I'm just a little health nut and don't do eggs or milk like that, so that is the main reason for my modifications. Still both ways came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This could have been a 5-star recipe for me if it wasn't so incredibly spicy! Don't get me wrong - I like flavor as much as the next gal, but after looking at the recipe I cut the Tabasco and cayenne by half and it was STILL too hot for my family. This recipe also makes a LOT of stuffing! I had a fair amount of difficulty stirring it all up in even my biggest fry pan. You might wanna go for a big soup pot instead. Anyway, I wound up stirring/storing it in an 8x13 baking dish, and it filled that to the brim. I'm definitely making this recipe again - it WAS delicious, I'm just going to modify the spices a bit, and maybe cut the recipe by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Saint Francis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
By far the best stuffing I've ever made Will definitely make again using a less evaporated milk, eggs and stock to get the consistency I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senci

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Delicious! I'll be using it from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This recipe is a bit of work, but worth it. I made only half a recipe. I baked the cornbread (in an 8-inch square pan), mixed the spices together, and chopped the veggies the day before, which saved a lot of time on Thanksgiving. I used less cayenne pepper and didn't add the tabasco sauce or green chile pepper, and it was spicy enough. I didn't stuff my turkey. I baked it in a greased 9x13-inch pan uncovered for 1 hour at 350 degrees, stirring halfway through. (I like my stuffing dry and a bit crunchy.) Very tasty and even better served with gravy on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States