Creole Chitterlings (Chitlins) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
If you have not tried this recipe, then what are you waiting for? Easy to follow...deelishus. This recipe is good, but my favorite is Down Home Chitterlings with a few revisions. See my review on Down Home Chitterlings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AvocadoLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lovejoy, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is the way we've been cooking chitlins for years up North. I didn't know we had a little Creole running through us! This is a very tasty recipe. I'll add, keep rinsing the chits until the water is as clear as you can get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I don't eat chitlins, but my daughter made these one year and everyone in the neighborhood raved about them. Said they were the best they ever had. And I guess cooking them this way reduced the smell in the house. Wich was a plus for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Droopy Pollard

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I agree with the last comment on the inner lining removal, even tho I no longer eat pork its nice to see our culture staying alive and well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eugeno7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Hi Nyghtsong. New Year's Day my mother always prepared Chittlins as one of the meat dishes. She went home to be with the Lord 4 years ago. I want to feel close to her and will try this recipe and let you know. Thanks for sharing as you never know who you are blessing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodlyMother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I made these for the hubby this weekend (he hadn't had any in 10 years!). He could not stop eating them! I thought I had Creole seasoning but didn't, so I used seasoning salt and pepper instead. Fantastic! However, cleaning chitlins is not fun, lol Btw, I don't even eat chitilins and still managed to smoke this recipe! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parisia Bates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Did a trial run and only used 5lbs just in case my husband didn't like them. Well he loved them and requested i use this recipe from now on! I don't eat them but this is how I'll be cooking them from now on. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
In my youth, before I was vegetarian, I enjoyed chitlins made just like this recipe. My mother was a southern cook and I loved everything she cooked. thanks for sharing this heritage recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I learned to clean chittlins from my grandmother she always chose the brand in the large red bucket and it took hours to clean them now that I prepare them in my own household I prefer to use Uncle Lou's brand super cleaned frozen chitterlings and this makes your preference of cleaning easier also I would like to add that there is less of a smell and more flavor when you add a touch of Allspice seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I'm cooking this recipe now and OMG!!! the aroma alone has friends and family standing near the stove fanning the steam towards their face. If daddy were alive I know he would wonder how did I get rid of the odor chitterlings are famous for, and second where did I get the recipe. This is gourmet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Cajun Spiced Pork Chops

These tasty chops make an easy weeknight dinner with spices you have on hand.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States