Creole Chitterlings (Chitlins) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I BELIEVE THAT'S HOW MOST OF US COOK OUR CHITLINS HUN....MINUS THE CELERY AND THE BELL PEPPER FOR MY FAMILY'S PERSONAL TASTE. AND TOO MUCH VINEGAR WILL KILL THE TASTE. BUT TO EACH IT'S OWN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
In my youth, before I was vegetarian, I enjoyed chitlins made just like this recipe. My mother was a southern cook and I loved everything she cooked. thanks for sharing this heritage recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Did a trial run and only used 5lbs just in case my husband didn't like them. Well he loved them and requested i use this recipe from now on! I don't eat them but this is how I'll be cooking them from now on. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I made these for the hubby this weekend (he hadn't had any in 10 years!). He could not stop eating them! I thought I had Creole seasoning but didn't, so I used seasoning salt and pepper instead. Fantastic! However, cleaning chitlins is not fun, lol Btw, I don't even eat chitilins and still managed to smoke this recipe! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parisia Bates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
OMG! These were the best chitlins ever! This was my first time attempting them for our traditional New Years dinner. Since I come from a long line of excellant soul food cooks and want to pass along the tradition to my daughter, I wanted to put my best foot forward. I only cooked 10lbs. of chitlins, which is 1/2 of the recipe, but did not use bell pepper or bay leaf, but the chitlin turned out great. However, I cooked them for 7-8 hours -- I like them very tender -- and did not eat them until the next day, which I think played a big part in developing the flavor. This recipe is simple and will be added to my recipe collection for the upcoming New Years I am blessed to see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trecie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Hi Nyghtsong. New Year's Day my mother always prepared Chittlins as one of the meat dishes. She went home to be with the Lord 4 years ago. I want to feel close to her and will try this recipe and let you know. Thanks for sharing as you never know who you are blessing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodlyMother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
If you have not tried this recipe, then what are you waiting for? Easy to follow...deelishus. This recipe is good, but my favorite is Down Home Chitterlings with a few revisions. See my review on Down Home Chitterlings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AvocadoLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lovejoy, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
In regards to removing the lining, the submitter did not include that because you are starting with frozen "cleaned" chitterlings. (See recipe above). The main lining (the most rubbery fatty layer) has already been removed. There are a few good brands. But even though they have been "cleaned" I still go through every inch and remove any specks. I also double check the lining just to make sure. A key step is to boil them after cleaning (I would boil at least 5 minutes) and then drain and start with fresh water. This will keep you from having to continuously skim the water (spooning and dumping any foamy grayish looking stuff that rises to the top of the boiling water), though there may still be a little skimming to do. Incidentally there is still another layer of lining that can be further separated leaving the chitterlings almost paper thin. However I find that the final result is while tender, much too thin. You want them tender, but you want a feel like you are eating something. One more thing. Contamination/Illness can happen. Keep kids/babies out of the kitchen and wash hands/nails, counters, etc. thoroughly after handling (use bleach). The USDA even suggest boiling for 5 minutes before cleaning, to kill bacteria (will not change flavor). It also may help the cleaning go easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I agree with the last comment on the inner lining removal, even tho I no longer eat pork its nice to see our culture staying alive and well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eugeno7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I don't eat chitlins, but my daughter made these one year and everyone in the neighborhood raved about them. Said they were the best they ever had. And I guess cooking them this way reduced the smell in the house. Wich was a plus for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Droopy Pollard

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States