Creole Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I followed this recipe pretty closely - and I was pleased with the result. I wouldn't change anything, and I certainly would not omit the raisins. Even my partner who does not like raisins, said they made the dish. I had thighs and drumsticks, so I used those instead of whole legs. Took off their skin and tossed them in the brown sugar. Quickly fried in the oil on all side before putting them in the baking dish. I used peanut oil (groundnut oil) because I didn't have olive oil. I think the can of tomato paste I had was just under 6oz - didn't have any other paste, so I only used that. I had a package of golden raisins, so I used those (probably not a full cup). I have a milder chili powder, so I used 2 Tablespoons of that. Didn't feel like going out to pick fresh parsley late last night - I used about a teaspoon of the dried parsley instead. I've read at least a couple reviews saying they didn't enjoy the recipe and they burned the garlic because there was too much going on. I line everything up before I begin cooking the garlic/onions - that way I can move quickly and add things right away. Also, make sure your oil isn't so hot it instantly burns the garlic. Hope that helps - the recipe is worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I liked it, but the kids didn't. They just didn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamel
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I made this recipe as posted. I think it's odd that it's called "Creole Chicken" because it truly is a chicken curry dish. It's not spicy at all, which I knew going into the recipe based on the ingredients. I suppose one could use a very spicy curry if they wanted extra heat. However, we loved the dish and served it over rice with peanuts sprinkled on top. The raisins are a must!! Curry + raisins=dynamite combo! I usually cook with coconut milk when I make curries, so it's nice to have a "lower fat" version to make. The brown sugar rub was interesting; I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I think of this more as a curry chicken and I did double the curry and added ginger. Amazing!!!! this will go in my rotation!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Boyfriend was not impressed. He said the raisins were too sweet and did not meld well with the chicken. I was hoping this would be deliciously different...will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I love this chix. I have made it for various people and the always ask for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I wanted to try something different with chicken legs and just made this dish. Weirdly delicious! I think all I would do next time is increase the amounts of seasoning or add something to give it just a bit more intensity of taste. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Love this recipe!!!! I added to 2 tablespoons of curry, and added a teaspoon of cayenne. Didn't have chicken stock so I used chicken broth. I omitted the raisins, Still came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
YUM!!!! Different but tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
loved it! The only changes I made were yellow peppers instead of green (all i had on hand) and no raisins because i didn't have any. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States