Creole Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Great recipe, I even forgot the diced tomatoes and it was still delicious. the only thing I changed was I used brown rice, I am sure it is even tastier with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
YUMMY! And easy! I did add some creole seasoning and an extra dash of hot sauce. I used leftover honey baked ham from the freezer. I also cooked the rice on the side and served the chicken over it. Will definitely be making again. My 3 year old daughter kept saying how good it was and my picky husband liked to. Win. Win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
One of the best meals I've made in the slow cooker, hands down. I followed the recipe almost entirely, except I added three cups of cooked rice and a few extra dashes of hot pepper sauce. I worried that this recipe might be too bland, but this was not the case. Must be a slow cooker miracle. For a spicier flavor, just add cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Serafini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I'm not going to say I followed the recipe exactly, but I was really close. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs, a red bell pepper, because I didn't have green, a regular onion because I didn't have green, added a couple cloves of garlic, a bay leaf and cooked the rice separately. I've never had success putting rice in a crock-pot. I also used a good four or five shakes of hot sauce and half a banana pepper, and it still wasn't spicy at all. It was good, but not terrific. I may have to play with it some more. This was actually much better the second day! We didn't cook much rice, so we just tossed some brown minute rice in the cooker and turned it back on high for a bit to cook. Then dished it up for the next days lunches. I'm eating it for lunch as I write this and I like it more today than yesterday. I'm still not sure I'd give it a 4 though without work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is a definite repeat for our family! I made some adjustments: used crushed tomatoes (double amount), added Tablespn of garlic, 1 Teaspn of Cajun seasoning, 2 Cups of chicken broth, red bell pepper (instead of green) put the cooked polish in from the start with the chicken and ham, and used 2.5lbs of chicken breasts cut into 2in chunks. The spice level was SPOT ON for my wife and kids (I'll add some more to my bowl next time for a bigger kick!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Didn't have enough flavor. I would try a different recipe other than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I cooked this on the stove top. Like other reviewers said, it needed more spice - I added Cajun seasoning, more salt and red pepper flakes. I also added some okra, used hot Italian sausage (instead of Polish sausage), deleted the ham and put in some shrimp. Hmmm, hmmm, my family loved it served over cooked rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Well this tastes yummy BUT it is wayyyyy too salty!!! I will definately omit the salt in the recipe next time. There is plenty of salt with the ham and the canned tomatoes and tomato paste. I added a potato to try to capture some of the salt but still is extremely salty. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
It was tasty! I cubed chicken breasts and used hot Italian sausage instead of Kielbasi. Cooked the sausage down and added it about 30-45 minutes before serving, so the sauce absorbed into the meat. I prefer more of a kick but other family members that don't care for food as hot as I do, liked the temp just fine. Made brown rice on the side instead of mixing it in to the meal. I wouldn't put this on my top fav meals on the site but I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Made this for dinner tonight; as with one reviewer, I used boneless/skinless chicken thighs to save time. I panicked when an entire 28oz. can of diced tomatoes got poured in (my helper didn't hear me say to use about half), but the taste was fantastic! We all love tomatoes in food, so the added taste was great and not overpowering. I also added some dry Peruvian chile lime seasoning, and substituted a "chef salt" mixture that my mother makes, but won't tell me the recipe for. Doubled the green onions since we love the bite from those, added in celery (about 4 stalks worth, chopped), and used hot italian sausage instead of Polish sausage. Definitely was a hit, I'm already getting demands to make it again soon, so I'd say this one gets saved as a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States