Creole Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Try instead of rice, use tortillas and serve as a fajita with grated Chedder cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Ehhhh....This came out pretty good, however, I did some tweaking! I used fire roasted diced tomatoes, added a cup of beef broth, a couple beef cubes, garlic, worcestershire, chipolte chili powder. I used chicken tenderloins and a whole pack of Healthy Choice kelbasa. It didn't have much of a flavor before this. Now, that I have more of a liquid based, I would add the rice to the whole pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARSIZEMORE
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Absolutely fantastic-and added to my favs list! My husband raved on this one. I would add more hot sauce. Also, I topped with a light sprinkle of Creole seasoning when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I really liked this dish. I did make a couple of changes, but overall this was a great tasting dish. I doubled the sauce ingredients and used one can of Rotel as one of the cans of diced tomatoes. It turned out great. Also, I thought the dish looked good too. The reviewer who said that it looked unappetizing obviously does not know what Creole dishes should look like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I gave 4 stars because it had a lot of potential. I left out the green pepper-didn't have it on hand. Added a chopped celery rib, 1 chopped onion, substitued a can of Ro-tel Mexican style tomatoes for the big can of tomatoes and paste. It was plenty juicy for us. Added a cup of chopped okra and 3 minced garlic cloves. Preheated my crockpot on high while I browned my chicken, then browned my sausage and veggies and poured over the chicken. It cut the cooking time by one hour by doing that. Also, used creole seasoning instead of salt. It tasted more like gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Used chicken wings instead of thighs (cut off the tips) because that is what I had. Used stewed whole tomatoes (1/2 can) & 3/4th of small fresh tomato also because that is just what I had (scaled for 4 servings approximately). Turned slow cooker on high for part of the time & low for the rest. Added a box of Zatarain’s jambalaya mix to the chicken. The chicken was so moist it fell right off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Sorry, this dish wasn't very good for me, my boyfriend wouldn't even touch it because it didn't look very appetizing. It tasted ok but lacked something so I added a ton of Adobo Sofrito and it still wasn't tasteful. Sorry, won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYGIRL30S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Mine turned out pretty watery. Next time I'll add maybe the uncooked rice to the pot and simmer it together from the beginning. Overall, though, a pretty good crock pot recipe, but not a slamdunk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Fixed this dish for Fat Tuesday and it was delicious. Used boneless skinless chicken thighs, and lite smoked sausage instead of other sausage. Added celery, regular onions and lots of fresh garlic. Also, used the 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes and added the two cups of water. Cooked on low for 7 hours and added a tad of cayane pepper and 1 pound of cooked shrimp one hour before finish.Used leftover white rice form Chinese carryout. Awesome dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
It was ok, didnt have any bite that we could taste even after adding more hot pepper as well as other spicey spices. Maybe we'll try it again adding something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States