Creole Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I only had a few of the items on hand, but this recipe inspired me to use meats from my freezer and other items on hand to make dinner for my family... they LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I really thought that this would be spicier. For us it was actually a bit bland even though I used a 3 pepper rub on the chicken, pan fried it to get the skin crispy and then put it in the crock pot. We liked it and I may try it again but next time I will add rotel tomatoes and some more spice. The chicken was moist but I thought our ham ended up too chewy and so may add it at the end with the sausage next time. All in all a good place to start but not a finished recipe for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Pretty good recipe, quick and easy too! I didn't have time to use the crock pot earlier in the day so I cooked in a medium soup pot, covered, on low for three hours. First I lightly seasoned and browned the chicken (cajon seasoning, garlic salt and lemon pepper) then added ingredients. The chicken was falling apart by the time the sausage was cooked. What I did differently was, I added more than a few dashes of hot sauce, 2 cloves of minced garlic, a bay leaf, and only 3/4 of the can of tomatoe paste. Also threw in a half a bag of frozen sweet corn. I used 2 spicy italian sausage links (removed casings and cut into smaller bites), threw them in the last half hour. I will say that I wouldn't use Johnsonville Italian Hot sausage again. It was good but made the sauce greasy. I also cooked the rice separately in garlic, butter and knorr chicken boullion. I'm sure it would've been too dry if I'd added it. I served ontop of my rice. My husband and I really liked this dish, and would make again, especially when it's cooler out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaT33
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Finally, a slow cooker recipe that has a bit of bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This is a great basic recipe. I added some shrimp just because I had some in the house. I can think of lots of variations on this basic recipe that I may try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Great recipes -- very easy and a perfect cold weather food. I served it over rice with a salad on the side. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This is a good recipe, even after I screwed it up a bit. I used WAY more than 2 dashes of hot sauce (this was a good idea). I also added a little water because the liquid level seemed really low (this was a bad idea). Everything was cooked through, but just had a little less bite than I expected (my fault for adding water). Still, this recipe was saved with more seasoning and hot sauce, but I know next time I make it, it's going to have that kick! Sausage is the best part (I added it in the slow cooker instead of the rice, because it smelled so good. I wanted that flavor in with the rest of the ingredients)! Will definitely cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HHChang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This recipe was turned out good. However, I did not get 8 servings. The next time I make this recipe I would double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I had to really doctor this up. It just tasted of tomato paste. I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Like many reviewers, I used this recipe as more of a "base" and added flavors to suit my own taste - canned chipotle peppers and chili oil for heat, no green peppers or tomato paste, cajun seasoning, fresh thyme, a few cloves of garlic and some Gumbo file. Turned out very good, just the right amount of kick. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States