Creole Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
This was okay. I added Creole spices. With the salt content in the ham I wouldn't add the salt this recipe calls for. Too much work for a slow cooker (having to cook the rice near the end). I like slow cooker recipes that you throw everything in and forget about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
Pretty good crockpot dish. Thanks to tips from other cooks, I knew to add some more spice. I used the spicy brand of chopped tomatoes, chorizo sausage, and added some red pepper flakes and chili powder along with the hot sauce. I also added thyme, garlic, and bay leaf. Still could have used some heat, but we all had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
Well I liked this but my husband didn't. I don't think it was due to the changes I made. Used shrimp instead of chicken; used cajun seasoning instead of salt; added 1 c. chicken bouillon; used low fat Polish sausage. Even with my changes I felt there was something missing. Maybe a bay leaf would help. Unfortunately I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I changed this recipe some. I added some onion and celery and used more tomato sauce than called for (because it was the only size can I found). I used more hot sauce than called for and added some cayenne pepper and garlic. I took the sausage out of the casing and cooked it up with some red pepper and added it for the last 30 minutes or so (after shredding the chicken). I tried adding the rice into the creole mixture, but both my husband and I agree, we should have kept the rice separate. I think it soaks up too much of the sauce. It seems a bit too dry when you reheat. It would be better if kept separate until put on your plate to eat. Good base recipe and pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This one is a WINNER!!!!! I seasoned the chicken with cajun seasoning and added chopped jalepeno's (the kind in a jar), omitted the ham and took about a half of a pound of spicy italian sausage out of its casing and put it in with the chicken at the start. It was super HOT and flavorful! The dish holds well on low for a long time - the second time I made it it was in the crock for 10 hours before we ate and I couldn't tell the difference. I do take the skin off of the thighs before cooking, and the meat is so tender it just falls off the bone. Delicious! Thanks for a great recipe, Nancy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Mkiing this recipe, and calculating the number of people that I was cooking for was one issue but gone for a high protien, high carb, meal made in the crockpot was wonderful, tasty, everyone liked it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Very quick and easy to make. Next time, I will use more seasonings, perhaps, crushed red pepper and cajun seasoning to spice it up more. Not very hot. Deleted the Ham, and used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and lite Turkey Sausage to make it more Weight Watcher friendly. Approximately 5 points for a serving of one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Wonderful recipe! I added a can of Rotel (HOT)to it for extra spice and used boneless skinless chicken and it turned out GREAT! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
This was wonderful. I cooked the chicken about 4 hours and took the meat off the bone into large chunks. I added some red pepper and cajun seasoning to this at the beginning to give it some added spiciness. Next time, I may use diced tomatoes with green chilis in place of the regular diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
I took the advice of the other Reviewers and added extra spicyness to the recipe by using extra Hot Sauce and Cayenne Pepper. I had to cook mine on low for 10 hours and I just sauteed the Polish Sausage with some garlic and added it when I was ready to serve the dish. My Boyfriend and I liked the recipe alot and will make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScullyKel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States