Creole Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
LOVE this recipe! I used thighs and added hot italian sausage in the beginning, all the rest of the ingredients and added shrimp for the last 10-15 minutes (time it so it's done and not fishy), left out the rice and just poured it over rice. It's excellent! I also made it a little more spicy cause I like it hot! Try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
GREAT recipe for those with busy schedules. I used chix breasts instead of thighs and place them at the bottom of the crock pot and then lightly seasoned with creole seasoning. I then put the ham on top and in a bowl, mixed the tomatoes/peppers/paste/onions/hot sauce and poured overall. Although I was expecting a bit more kick, it didn't have any but my boyfriend prefers a more mild "creole" anyways. Everyone devored. Keeping this great recipe for busy days to come...since it's so simple - that gets a five star rating from me all by itself. Thanks Nancy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Good basic recipe. I've done some tweeking to make it a fammily favorite. First I skinned the chicken, so it wasn't so greasy. I also added alot more hot sauce, garlic, celery, and a dash of lemon juice. Great on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I prefer my old fashioned way of making jambalaya, but this was a good, easy version. I had everything on hand and it was great to be able to just throw it all in the crockpot. The chicken became really tender. I did add celery, garlic and cajun seasoning at the beginning, omitted the ham, and used spicy chicken habanero sausage in place of the polish sausage. I also was a little heavy handed with the hot sauce. I'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
This was good for a change of pace, but I didn't look forward to eating the leftovers. I wish this rice cooked in the clow cooker. too many extra steps for s low cookers recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
It is soo bland and not enough of flavor! It looked wonderful. BUT I don't really enjoy the dinner since it was so bland. It need more flavor though. I may not cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Needed a heck lot of help to finally be good. Unmodified, this recipe is not worthy of the dinner table. After adding garlic (pretty de rigeur in Creole cooking), paprika, New Mexico Chile Powder, cumin, coriander, more salt,freshly ground pepper, some sugar (I normally never add sugar to anything - but trust me- this needed it because of the excessive acid from the tomatoes), way more hot pepper sauce, and some really good chicken apple sausage, I finally was able to serve this to my family. Wait a minute - this is no longer the same recipe . . . call mine Creole Chicken II!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
This score was given but all the people who ate this one. They loved it! I did spice things up a bit by adding some creole spices and some chopped jalapenos. I didn't cook the rice seperately, I used Uncle Bens Brown rice and added it for the last hour of the cooking so the rice didn't pastey. I also left out the ham....I used to live in Louisiana thick in creole country and never heard of anyone cooking with ham so I deleted it. This is one I will make again thanks for sharing Nancy it was a BIG hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
My fiance and I LOVE this recipe!! I've also made it on the stove and it works just fine, just in less time. I make the rice in a rice cooker and it just means one less step for me to worry about. Then I add the rice to the crockpot at the end. We absolutely love it! Since we live on a tight budget, I always add more rice and tomatoes to make it go a little bit farther.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
This was okay. I added Creole spices. With the salt content in the ham I wouldn't add the salt this recipe calls for. Too much work for a slow cooker (having to cook the rice near the end). I like slow cooker recipes that you throw everything in and forget about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States