Creole Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This recipe is a family favorite. My kids, who are not fond of creole cooking absolutely love it. I only made one substitution. I used 1/2 andoullie sausage and have kilbasi. That amount was good for the kids, in my opinion, all andoullie is good, gives a great kick to the dish. I also added a little extra cajun seasoning. I like "Slap your mama" seasoning. All in all, great dish, definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I feel silly reviewing this because I have made a number of changes, but it is a great great recipe and can so easily be tweaked to suit individual tastes. I use chicken breast and coat them in a "creole" seasoning blend. I use one whole onion chopped, 1 whole bell pepper choppen, i can tomato paste, i can diced tomatoes (sometimes fire roasted), couple dashed hot sauce, 1 garlic clove, salt. Mix it all up and add the chicken breast. Just before serving I slice up a kielbasa and brown it in a pan then mix it in the crockpot. I serve it all over rice. My husband LOVES this dish. Definitely a favorite in our house :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
My family and friends love this but there is a few changes that I make to make it my own. I use chicken breast and season it with Tony's Chachere's seasonal and some Zatarain's Cayenne Pepper (amount to your liking). I also add some celery salt, fresh garlic, a chopped onion and a can of tomato sauce. I omit ham and Polish sausage I add a chopped link of smoked sausage. I do not add the rice to the crockpot I serve it on the side but also we like it like a soup it has great flavor!! I get people from work to ask me to make it all the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamiJo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cut Off, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
The final result was a greasy, mushy consistency that didn't go over well. The ingrediants were good, and the flavor was nice, but the texture was bad. I don't usually cook with Chicken Thighs/or any bone-in chicken. The chicken fell apart in the slowcooker and the result was a dish with chicken bones floating around. You had to pick through your food before you ate it. If you make this, I would recommend boneless chicken and adding the rice to your plate, not the slow cooker. Very weird recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy D.
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
It's a hit! And really easy to make. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Other than dips and chili, this is the best slow cooker recipe we've run across! My husband doubled the tomatoes and accidentally used tomato sauce (and a bit more of it) than tomato paste, but overall, completely delicious. Sausage really makes the dish. We used what we had in our fridge, an apple turkey sausage - yum. Served over rice but would be good over pasta as well. He added about 2T paprika, teaspoon garlic powder, and teaspoon cayenne, which I think is probably what made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
yummy. added extra tomatoes for more liquid. put rice in pot like original recipe says but cooked rice longer than recipe indicated before adding so didn't soak up too much juice. best to watch pot to make sure doesn't soak up too much liquid & then turn off. I added more spice because we like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mr.Vee
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
It tastes great and makes an excellent base to work from. I tend to like spice and lots of meat and this more than suited my needs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Loved it. First time making it and it was for the office Mardi Gras party. I would prefer it to be spicier but it had the right kick for everyone to enjoy. Used diced tomatos with chiles and skipped the green onions because I forgot to buy them. I also bought spicy sausage and cooked it with the chicken and ham. I added a cup of water and then just poured on to rice at the end. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Winner! Easy and good. I put a couple of jalapinos in it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States