Creole Black-Eyed Peas and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This recipe is a definite keeper. If you can't find "Creole Seasoning", here is the list of ingredients you will need:2 tablespoons onion powder 2 tablespoons garlic powder 2 tablespoons dried oregano leaves 2 tablespoons dried sweet basil 1 tablespoon dried thyme leaves 1 tablespoon black pepper 1 tablespoon white pepper 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper 5 tablespoons sweet paprika Combine in food processor and pulse until well-blended, or mix thoroughly in a large bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sola
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
(this is my own recipe, just noticed some omissions in the final published version)... You can use 1/2 lb. of soaked dried black eyed peas if you want. This is more of a main dish than a side dish, but I didn't pick the catagory it ended up being listed in. This is also good with salsa on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I thought this was really good. The only thing is that I added a lot to it. I added to minced garlic cloves in the beginning. I also put at least 2 TB of creole and almost 1TB of chili powder. I would give it five stars if it weren't for the blandness I tasted before adding to it. I also used ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redwood Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This reminded me of dirty rice, and the black-eyed peas were a great enhancement - yum. I did make a few modifications though. I used ground sausage instead of ground beef, and I used 1/2 c. of chopped onions and 1/2 c. of chopped green pepper. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was fantastic! I didn't have a green pepper, so I used a can of Ro*Tel tomatoes and chiles and the result was great. I might try adding a bit more seasoning next time, but all in all, this is a keeper! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
tasty, easy, healthy - this is what I love in a recipe. I too added a bit of minced garlic to the beef, onions, and pepper during browning. just a nice overall mix of flavors and textures. for one helping i squirted some lime juice over my bowl (I don't know why) and I thought that tasted pretty good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This dish is delicious! I don't add the ground beef, kick up the cajun seasoning and serve it as a side dish. It's a real hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I've been making this for years. Try adding some Eckridge sausage to it cut into bit size pieces. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Made this for new years day. No one really cared that much for it until we took SSink's advice, and added the salsa on top...then everyone thought it was great. Served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
We really like this. Very easy to make. I used Onion Powder and doubled the Garlic. I also added some Worcestershire sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States