Creole Black-Eyed Peas and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Excellent! I love all dishes when you don't have to precook the rice or pasta. Not only easy, but yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
This was pretty good. It definitely needs more of the creole seasoning, otherwise it is a little bland. Very onion-y and could use more meat to compensate for the amount of rice and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This reminded me of dirty rice, and the black-eyed peas were a great enhancement - yum. I did make a few modifications though. I used ground sausage instead of ground beef, and I used 1/2 c. of chopped onions and 1/2 c. of chopped green pepper. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Overall pretty good but way too much pepper. Will cut in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
This one was easy and good. But it needed alot more spice than 1 T Creole Seasoning. I used ground turkey and about 3 Tablespoons of Creole Seasoning. Added more fresh ground pepper. Will make great leftovers to take to work for lunch and heat up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Served this great recipe at a Super Bowl party to rave reviews. I added 1 can of Trappy's Blackeyed Peas with Jalapeno's to "heat" it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This recipe is a definite keeper. If you can't find "Creole Seasoning", here is the list of ingredients you will need:2 tablespoons onion powder 2 tablespoons garlic powder 2 tablespoons dried oregano leaves 2 tablespoons dried sweet basil 1 tablespoon dried thyme leaves 1 tablespoon black pepper 1 tablespoon white pepper 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper 5 tablespoons sweet paprika Combine in food processor and pulse until well-blended, or mix thoroughly in a large bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sola
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
(this is my own recipe, just noticed some omissions in the final published version)... You can use 1/2 lb. of soaked dried black eyed peas if you want. This is more of a main dish than a side dish, but I didn't pick the catagory it ended up being listed in. This is also good with salsa on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-68 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States