Creole Black-Eyed Peas and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
tasty, easy, healthy - this is what I love in a recipe. I too added a bit of minced garlic to the beef, onions, and pepper during browning. just a nice overall mix of flavors and textures. for one helping i squirted some lime juice over my bowl (I don't know why) and I thought that tasted pretty good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Made this for new years day. No one really cared that much for it until we took SSink's advice, and added the salsa on top...then everyone thought it was great. Served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was great! We ate this dish with filet mignon, so I omitted the ground beef. Also, because my kids were also eating this, I scaled back the Cajun seasoning to 2 teaspoons. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Great for New Years Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I thought this was really good. The only thing is that I added a lot to it. I added to minced garlic cloves in the beginning. I also put at least 2 TB of creole and almost 1TB of chili powder. I would give it five stars if it weren't for the blandness I tasted before adding to it. I also used ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redwood Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
pretty good, very filling, needed garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Wow, so much better than I anticipated. I thought it kind of smelled peculiar while it cooked but it tastes great. This isn't Zataran's, but then again what is. ;P I accually think I muffed the recipe and it still tasted good. I was out of long grain rice so I used instant with the same amount of water and I had to use cooked dried peas because no one had peas without pork in them around here. I overcooked the beans so I ended up with a pretty sloppy dish but I had seconds anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was fantastic! I didn't have a green pepper, so I used a can of Ro*Tel tomatoes and chiles and the result was great. I might try adding a bit more seasoning next time, but all in all, this is a keeper! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
We love this recipe and make it all the time. So easy!! Reminds me of "dirty rice". This recipe is one of our regulars. Thanks for an easy delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This dish was different and delicious. I used Bush's Black-eyed Peas and instant rice to save time. It was great. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States