Creole Black-Eyed Peas and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I cooked this for my fiance and he absoulutly loved it. We're from down south so we love spicy food & this was a great recipe for our pea's & rice. We added cayenne pepper & brocolli. Its a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I made black eyed peas last night and no one ate it. So, tonight I had tons of leftovers and I tried using them on this recipe. I made it without the rice and we ate it with fresh tomatoe slices on the side. It was delicious! These were the best black eyed peas we have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bushka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Every year our family gets together for Thanksgiving dinner. Each family is in charge of bringing a variety of things. I usually like to think outside the box and bring something I have never cooked before or bring something we haven't eaten before. I found this recipe and decided to try it out for this special occasion. To my delight it smelled absolutely delicious and tasted better than any (dirty rice) combination I have eaten. I received lots of compliments on this dish and was asked for the recipe... I even make it for dinner sometimes with some cornbread!!! Matter of fact... I think we will have it tonight! LOL.... This is an excellent quick and simple meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Good black eye pea recipe, I made it with purple hulled peas and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
My thirteen year old son loved this recipe. I thought he would never eat black eyed peas. I used italian seasoning instead of the Creole seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sebring, Ohio, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Substituted ground turkey and added some stewed tomatoes to make up for the lost meat fat flavour and it was wonderful. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
My husband thought this recipe was okay, but I didn't like it. I used 2 T of seasoning and Bush's canned peas. It was too salty - I would recommend using 1T of seasoning and adding cayenne pepper to increase flavor and decrease salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made this to up hold the New Years Black Eye Pea tradition. What a geat dish!! I did double the creole and added chilli pepper, I liked the kick. I also used ground turkey instead of the beef, and chopped garlic in place of garlic powder. It made a lot of food, and everyone was pleasantly surprised that Black Eye Peas can actually taste good! Thanks for the recipe, can't wait to have leftovers today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I've been making this for years. Try adding some Eckridge sausage to it cut into bit size pieces. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Always looking for ways to get my 2 year old to eat veggies and this one was a hit! We like a lot of flavor, so I added an extra tsp of creole seasoning and doubled the garlic powder, used the canned black-eyed peas that are seasoned with bacon and added two crumbled up slices of bacon left from breakfast. My daughter declared it "DEE-lisus!" so what more could I ask for?? LOL! Will cut the ingredients in half next time, because this made a TON of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States