Creole Black-Eyed Peas and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was yummy. Next time for personal taste I will cut back a bit on the black pepper and add a bit more creole seasoning. A keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Very tasty. Hubby really likes it and tastes even better the next day. We load it up with hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Great recipe! Easy to make, and tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is my first review! I hate it when people change things in a recipe, but I didnt have creole seasoning so I used Old Bay Garlic seaoning(2 Tablespoons). Wow, this was great!!!! I will be making this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This was easy and delicious, but the second time I made it I turned it into a casserole. I browned the ground meat with a dash of worchesteshire sauce. The hubby doesn't like the onion and pepper "bits" so I subsituted with seasonings. I took the ground beef, the two cans of peas, one can of cream of chicken soup, 3/4 cup water, the rice, and 1tbsp creole seasoning, 1 tbsp onion powder, garlic powder (we like a lot of garlic) and a dash of cayenne pepper and mixed it all up together in a bowl. Spread the mixture into a 9x13 baking dish and baked it at 350 F for about 30 minutes. Then sprinkled a bit of cheddar cheese on top and covered with foil to let the cheese melt and the casserole set up. It was yummy! Thanks for the great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barefoot_Gypsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Andalusia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This was superb and very easy! I didn't use any meat since I was in charge of the side dish to go with our ribs. I also used dry beans that had been soaked and cooked already. I didn't have Creole seasoning, per se, so I used Blackened seasoning (1 tbsp) and Jalepeno seasoning (~1/2 tbsp) instead. It definately had some kick to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Super easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Pretty simple dish. good flavor, not to spicy, a lot like dirty rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I've made this a number of times now, and am just getting around to reviewing it. It's not fantastic, but still a pretty good, hearty dish with a variety of good ingredients. I always make it exactly as written, except that a couple of times I didn't "drain the grease" since I used 96% ground beef - but I think that the draining is indeed preferable. Also, the cans of "blackeye peas" (written like that) that I used were 15 oz. not 15.5 oz., so I get a little less of them than the recipe says. Actually, this was my first time ever cooking with black-eyed peas, and I'd only ever eaten them a couple of times in my life. The spices were a little bit unusual, to my taste, so I can see why so many previous reviewers have fiddled with them. All in all, I'll give this 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is delicious! It is a bit spicy, but we loved it. Great tasting and easy to make, that's always five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States