Creole Black-Eyed Peas and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This dish had a lot of flavor and turned out well. I used brown rice, however, and upped the cooking time. Next time, I'm going to add more water if I use brown rice, because the extra cooking time did dry it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiedidbug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I thought this was a very good, very easy dish to whip up and not only that but everyone ate it. I did add a bit more spice on the advice of the other reviews. I also added canned diced tomato, gotta get those veggies in any way you can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I love one dish meals but some how the great creole flavor got lost in the other flavors resulting in a pretty bland dish with less than spectacular texture. I ended up sauteeing in 2 diced garlic cloves and 2 teaspoons diced fresh jalepeno, substituting the water with chicken broth (I used ground chicken + tbsp oil instead of beef) and adding extra paprika and 2 different chili powders before I thought it was a tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was yummy. Next time for personal taste I will cut back a bit on the black pepper and add a bit more creole seasoning. A keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Very tasty. Hubby really likes it and tastes even better the next day. We load it up with hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Great recipe! Easy to make, and tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is my first review! I hate it when people change things in a recipe, but I didnt have creole seasoning so I used Old Bay Garlic seaoning(2 Tablespoons). Wow, this was great!!!! I will be making this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This was easy and delicious, but the second time I made it I turned it into a casserole. I browned the ground meat with a dash of worchesteshire sauce. The hubby doesn't like the onion and pepper "bits" so I subsituted with seasonings. I took the ground beef, the two cans of peas, one can of cream of chicken soup, 3/4 cup water, the rice, and 1tbsp creole seasoning, 1 tbsp onion powder, garlic powder (we like a lot of garlic) and a dash of cayenne pepper and mixed it all up together in a bowl. Spread the mixture into a 9x13 baking dish and baked it at 350 F for about 30 minutes. Then sprinkled a bit of cheddar cheese on top and covered with foil to let the cheese melt and the casserole set up. It was yummy! Thanks for the great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barefoot_Gypsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Andalusia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This was superb and very easy! I didn't use any meat since I was in charge of the side dish to go with our ribs. I also used dry beans that had been soaked and cooked already. I didn't have Creole seasoning, per se, so I used Blackened seasoning (1 tbsp) and Jalepeno seasoning (~1/2 tbsp) instead. It definately had some kick to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Super easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States