Creme Filling I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
If you have a grainy texture from the normal sugar try using beverage sugar instead. Beverage sugar falls somewhere between regular and powdered sugar in texture. This is very similar to the "buttercream" recipe you might learn in a cake decorating class. Tastes alright, but pales in comparison to fillings/frostings made with real dairy products. Still, it does in a pinch, especially if your cake/donut/pastry can't be refrigerated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I did not care for this. The only reason I'm giving it 1 star is because I can't post a comment without rating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was a good waste of time and sugar. Even whipping at high for several minutes, texture was still too poor for use. Taste is also very bland considering the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I whipped and whipped this for the longest time and it was still very grainy. It tasted terrible, too...like sweet gritty grease. Adding vanilla helped the flavor, but nothing could help the grainy texture. I added half a cup of boiling water and a bunch more powdered sugar. It wasn't much help. I would steer clear of this recipe altogether!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is super easy and a little time consuming but overall ok. All the bad reviews of gritty must be using the wrong type of sugar. Confectioners sugar is POWDERED SUGAR!!!, not super fine or granulated. use the right stuff get the right results very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danni Haverfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Vernon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Mine turned out great. I did make some changes, though. I used butter instead of shortening. I only added half a cup of butter. I used 2 cups of confectioners' sugar instead of white sugar. I also added a half of a tablespoon of vanilla extract, a dash of cinnamon and 3 tablespoons of cocoa powder. I whipped it all together and stuck it in the refrigerator to set up. It turned out fantastic! My fiance LOVES it and if I'm not careful he'll eat it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
My suggestion is to use superfine sugar and use the wire beaters on the upright mixers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I tried this recipe with a bit of vanilla, as others have suggested. It was, as expected, tasty, but gritty. Reasoning that sugar does not dissolve easily in fats, I added up to half a cup of water. This helped, but most of the sugar was already coated in fat and so did not dissolve easily. So I made a simple syrup with the sugar, then wipped in the shortening. I hoped this would emulsify easily and without the sugar grit. It made a slimy mess until I added a tablespoon or so more powered sugar while it was in the mixer. That allowed it to mix into a very nice creamy filling. I'm very happy with the result, it's a versitile mix that can range from a kind of thick creamy texture to a light fluffy filling. I'm storing some to see how stable it is and whether the gritty version, which is easier to make, will eventually smooth out on it's own. I'm looking forward to trying some other flavorings and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe is the worst recipe for cream I have tried, it was greasy, gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Try this instead. Cream Filling Enough to fill and decorate or whatever you want to fill. 24 cupcakes 2 tsp very hot water 1/4 tsp salt 1 (7 oz) jar marshmallow cream 1/2 cup shortening 1/3 cup powdered sugar 1/2 tsp vanilla Dissolve the salt in the hot water and allow to cool. Whip the marshmallow cream, shortening, powdered sugar, and vanilla until it begins to get fluffy. Add the water and whip well. Or This Cream Filling 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature 1 1/2 cups confectioners' sugar 1/4 cup granulated sugar 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract Directions In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat butter until light and fluffy. Gradually add confectioners' sugar and granulated sugar, beating until combined. Beat in vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States