Creme de Menthe Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2004
Following the recipe with the white cake and syrup I wasn't impressed, so have to give it a 3 star rating that way. However, following other reviews I used a chocolate cake with hot fudge ice cream topping (Hershey's)instead of chocolate syrup, and this was much better. The guys I made it for, (using chocolate cake and fudge) loved it. If you want to make the "Baptist" version use Peppermint extract instead. BTW, for those worried about the alcohol, it dissipates with heating leaving only the flavor, and you can always use peppermint extract for the topping if you are worried about children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
So easy, and one of the best cakes I have ever eaten! I used chocolate fudge cake. The recipe called for 1 1/3 cups water, so I substituted 1/3c Creme de Menthe for the 1/3c water. Used a jar of Hersheys hot fudge topping, didn't change anything else. Very hard to stick with "one small piece" when you make this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Oh....my.....goodness! This cake is the best! I made it for a co-worker's birthday and it was pretty simple since everything is from a box or jar and it tastes like a million bucks! The only alterations I used were that I used chocolate cake mix and I used hot fudge instead of chocolate syrup. After I "frosted" the cake w/ the whipped topping, I made some designs on the top with chocolate syrup and then put broken pieces of Andes Candies on top. It looked great. Everyone loved it. I want to try it w/ the white cake mix sometime too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Our family has passed down a similar version. However, we add 3 Tablespoons of the green creme de menthe and do not leave out any water (it stays moist this way). You may also use 1.5 box of cake mix as the cake mix today has less in it than 30-40 years ago when my grandmother used to make this. We also top ours with a thin layer of melted chocolate instead of syrup - it hardens and adds a kind of crunch texture that goes great with the creamy whipped cream & cake. Just be sure not to spread it on too thick or you can't cut through it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
To tell you the truth, I have never made this cake using white cake mix! Being the chocolate lover that I am I always make it with a homemade chocolate cake recipe I have. (I'm sure a boxed choc. would be fine) Last time we made cupcakes and wow...were they good! I use hot fudge as other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
I make this cake quite often, just a little differently. I follow the directions for the white cake mix and add 1/4 cup creme de menthe syrup to the cake instead of liqueur. I also add 2 tbls. cdm syrup to the whipped topping. I use hot fudge topping and spread it on the cake and put the whipped topping on top of that. This is my favorite cake, but I have never tried chocolate which I think I will do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
What an awesome recipe! I substituted chocolate cake mix, because to me chocolate and mint tastes the best together, but other than that I kept the recipe the same and what a delightful surprise. Best to make it the night before to let all the flavors come together. Thanks for sharing. I will definitely be making over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Looking at the recipe this does not look like a 13x9 cake but I can not find any directions as to how the pictured cake was baked. Can any one help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMUNSEY
Home Town: Alcoa, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This is always a big hit, sometimes I substitute Hot Fudge instead of Chocolate Syrup. JOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful516

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
My mom passed this same recipe down to me. Whenever I make it, there is never any left over. It's so easy to make and tastes so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHI_C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mcloud, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States