Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
very delicious and creamy. I didn't have a propane torch and being only 13, I was a bit scared to use the broiler to burn the sugar since I had never used it before. so to substitute the burned sugar, my sister and I tried to make caramel and put it on top of the creme brulee. my sister put 1/2 c. brown sugar and about 1/3 c. of water in a sauce pan on high. Depending on how long you cook the caramel, it will turn out more bitter the longer the time(you can also tell by the coloration) then she poured the caramel on the chilled creme brulee. we waited until the caramel was hard then we ate it. adding caramel is a perfect substitute to sweet-tooths all over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckymio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Fantastic taste and consistency. I followed the directions in the review; they are spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Excellent recipe, make me look like a professional cook! I absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yannick Chasse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I recently had creme brulee on a trip and so wanted to make it when I got home. I scoured the net for what sounded like an easy recipe and finally found this one. I took the suggestions of Chef and did not use the double boiler. This being my first time making creme brulee I was a bit hesitant to make substitutions but to cut the calories I used fat free half and half instead of heavy cream. It didn't compromise the texture or flavour at all - I was so pleased. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
this is so creamy and mouthwatering at the same time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Just do what CHEFPEON says to do and you won't have any issues. It's not necessary to pre-cook in a double boiler at all. I tell people I make creme brulee and they think I am "magical" but it's a stupid simple thing to make. Just use good ingredients and vanilla and everything will be perfect. By the way I use vanilla PASTE and not liquid extract and IMHO it gives it a more pure vanilla taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Excellent when prepared according to CHEFPEON's suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbeygeorge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I made this today and was extremely disappointed. It tasted more like custard than creme brulee. I have made creme brulee many times and never had it turn out with the texture this one did. Don't know what I did wrong as I followed the chef's suggestions and skipped the double boiler and used the water bath. The texture was way to thick. I tossed out the entire batch. I was going off the reviews on this one but I have to say, not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is my absolute favorite dessert! Don't skip the vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Omnivore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Five Stars with CHEFPEON's suggestions. I did 6 yolks, 4 Tblsp Sugar, and 1/2 tsp Vanilla mixed in a pot...2 1/2 C Heavy Cream in a separate pan pan until just before scalded (over med heat). Turn yolks on to med heat and slowly add in the cream, continue whisking. I cook it for about 3-ish minutes, then strain into a large Kerr jar. From there I pour into ramekins, use a water bath, and bake at 375 for about 25-ish minutes...until it shakes like Jello. Cool in waterbath for 15 minutes, then refrigerate. When ready to serve, Add regular sugar, and torch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States