Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Excellent when prepared according to CHEFPEON's suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbeygeorge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I made this today and was extremely disappointed. It tasted more like custard than creme brulee. I have made creme brulee many times and never had it turn out with the texture this one did. Don't know what I did wrong as I followed the chef's suggestions and skipped the double boiler and used the water bath. The texture was way to thick. I tossed out the entire batch. I was going off the reviews on this one but I have to say, not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is my absolute favorite dessert! Don't skip the vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Omnivore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Five Stars with CHEFPEON's suggestions. I did 6 yolks, 4 Tblsp Sugar, and 1/2 tsp Vanilla mixed in a pot...2 1/2 C Heavy Cream in a separate pan pan until just before scalded (over med heat). Turn yolks on to med heat and slowly add in the cream, continue whisking. I cook it for about 3-ish minutes, then strain into a large Kerr jar. From there I pour into ramekins, use a water bath, and bake at 375 for about 25-ish minutes...until it shakes like Jello. Cool in waterbath for 15 minutes, then refrigerate. When ready to serve, Add regular sugar, and torch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. I tired it and making creme brulee for the first time - and it was easy with perfect results. I chose to top it with warm blueberry compote (made from fresh blueberries).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
wonderful recipe w/chef changes....of course setting/cooking time will vary with dish you use if it is not a standard custard dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I made this recipe with the modifications that CHEFPEON suggested. I am eating it right now! SO GOOD! I was too stingy on the cooling time. Do let it rest and cool properly before you brulee the sugar on the top. Would be fantastic with a very small pinch of freshly grated cinnamon. I can't wait to try this out on friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
AMAZING!! Must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I give this rating using the suggestions by CHEFPEON. I did add an extra 1/2 tsp of vanilla. I used the broiler. The whole top didn't get crunchy, but it was close enough. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rocha
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
i made it 2 times and i loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocha
Home Town: Changsha, Hunan Province, China
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States