Creme Brulee Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
These are excellent pancakes. I used evaporated milk as I had no cream on hand. I added some chopped nuts to bump it up a bit. They are really good but I gave them a 4 as I think I preferred the ones that I made without the cinnamon sugar than with. Otherwise amazing - no syrup needed if you do put the sugar mixture on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Loved the "crust". Very good flavor. Made a horrible mess on my griddle, should've skipped the butter, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Oh. My. Yes. This was so, so good. Only change I made was that I didn't have any heavy cream, so I just upped the milk to 1 1/2 cups. Made these on my griddle at 400. It made 16 pancakes for me. We made a pear sauce to serve over top, using 2 diced pears, 1 1/2 cups water, 1/2 cup of sugar, dash of cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla. Used a cornstarch slurry to thicken it up. We had this for dinner, and it was the most wonderful fall meal. This is definitely a keeper for us! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Nice flavor, but I've tried these about five times and every time they stick to the pan, no matter what I do, and then when I flip them the sugar topping gets scraped off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ballet4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
These are pretty good if you make them with a very light sugar mix topping. I had two teen boys taste-test these. The first batch was very sweet. They gave them 3 stars. I gave the recipe 4 stars, because I made another batch that had a VERY thin layer of the sugar mixture on them. Not sure if I would make these again, unless serving them for dessert. They came out a little thin, but the texture was fluffy as the submitter stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was everything it promised!! OH Yummy!!! I didn't have heavy cream, so I followed a substitute of 3/4 c milk and 1/3 c melted butter. I doubled the recipe and made 16 good size pancakes. They're really rich, so a few go a long way. Thanks for such a great treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I love, love, love creme brulee. These were so good and easy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is a nice variation on the traditional pancakes. The pancakes were light and fluffy which contrasted nicely with the crunchy sugar topping. I didn’t have any heavy cream so I substituted light cream which worked out very well. I thought they would be too sweet, however they weren’t and we still used maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I did not have heavy cream on hand, I substituted evaporated milk. That was the only change I made. I did use pure vanilla extract, not imitation. I cooked these in my cast iron skillet--instead of spooning 3 tablespoons of batter into the skillet, I used 1/4 cup. I also used a heaping tablespoon of brown sugar mix on top of the pancake. Cooking them in the cast iron skillet gave the pancakes this wonderful crust that was absolutely amazing. The kids and I adored these pancakes--we literally ate ourselves silly with these this morning. BEST. PANCAKES. EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States