Creme Brulee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was my first attempt at creme brulee (made for a pre-Valentine Day dinner) and it turned out AMAZING! I followed others tips and used 4 egg yolks and cooked it for a solid 45 min and it was perfect. I did up the sugar to a skimpy 1/3 cup just because we like it a little on the sweet side. I used a cooking torch and it was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
came out perfect, best creme brulee I've made yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I had never attempted my own until I found this recipe; now I make it about every week. I add one extra egg yolk as other suggested, and I use 2 cups of lowfat half-and-half. I also prefer using demerara sugar for better flavor and texture. This is truly one of our favorite indulgences, and hubby loves getting to to play with fire when they are ready to scorch. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was wonderful. My husband and I are Creme Brulee snobs. I was worried when I made this because the last recipie I used called for egg whites so the yolks surprised me. The recipe I made from the whites tasted like egg this recipe tasted like burnt cream...PERFECT! I did use an extra egg yolk (4 total) and I used a slight 1/4 cup of sugar. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I halved this but used two full egg yolks. After consulting other recipes I didn't line the pan with a towel, I left off the foil tent, and I baked them at 350*F. It still took longer than the recommended time for them to set-- I left them in at least twice as long. I used my new kitchen torch to caramelize the sugar and it worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
*NOTE* Some reviewers said there's didn't set or it took too long in the oven. Mine did too the first time. The second time I put the pan with the wet towel in the oven while it preheated. This heats up the wet towel so when you put in the ramekins and add the boiling water it starts cooking immediately. It then will only take the 25 to 30 minutes instead of 1 to 1/2 hours. Huge difference! Oh, and you do need to add the extra egg! It's incredibly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is an easy and wonderfully tasty recipe. I used 4 egg yolks and increased the baking time. I didn't realize it would take 4-6 hours to set so I let it cool enough to put it in the freezer and let it cool of in there for about 45 mins. It was cooled and ready to put the sugar on. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clk103197

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I followed suggestions from other users: used one additional egg yolk, cooked for twice as long as recipe calls for and used 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 a vanilla bean, (for the topping 2 tsp white sugar, 2 tsp brown sugar, mixed together and put 2 tsp on each cup). This recipe is a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is my favorite creme brulee recipe! Makes 4 (6oz) dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
i added one extra egg. turned out great. very simple, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States