Creme Brulee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
First review and I'm using it just to say, I did not care for this recipe. I currently have had some watery concoction sitting in the oven for about an hour. I should have read the reviews and added extra eggs to my doubled recipe but since this recipe had such a high rating I didn't think I needed to! So I'm reviewing this in hopes that someone else doesn't make the same mistake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I only made this once, added the extra yolk and cooked it for 45 minutes like the recipe said. I also added fresh raspberries from our garden into the liquid just before pouring into ramekins. They seemed set when I took them out of the oven, but weren't set when I went to eat one with my hubby for dessert. I don't know if the raspberries extra water content did that, but if I could do it over I would serve the fruit on top instead. My husband and I love creme brulee and have eaten it many times at nice restaurants around Portland...the flavor seemed a little off for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potterprincess500

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I didn't have to change a thing except for adding a few extra minutes in the oven. I read the reviews about adding the 4th egg yolk after I tried this recipe and I started to worry... I did notice that the mixture was really foamy when I poured them into my ramekins and that overall it was really pale yellow. However, IMO this creme brulee is just right! Not overly sweet, and light & creamy. I didn't have any problems with it setting; it's definitely not thick like pudding but it's not watery either. I waited until they cooled to about room temperature, covered with foil and placed in the fridge. This recipe is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rxbunnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I have cooked this recipe with 2 yolks and with 3. DON'T ADD THE THIRD EGG!!!!! hated it with 3 yolks. Perfect the way it is. Don't mess with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This turned out fabulous! Per other recommendations, I added an extra egg yolk and increased the sugar to 1/3 cup. They took 45 minutes to cook, I put them in the freezer for about 35 minutes, and finally relocated them to the fridge for another couple hours before we ate them. Will definitely make this again! Oh and be sure to put a thin layer of sugar on top (I didn't use a full tbsp) because if it's too thick of a layer of sugar, it's a little harder to torch without it burning by the time it's all caramelized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kilikena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I am bewildered at the positive responses for this recipe. I was attracted to this creme brule version because it uses few eggs / serving that others I have tried, but I had the same problems that many others had unless I increased the # of eggs and cooking time. What good is a recipe as simple as this one that isn't bulletproof? Creme brule isn't complicated to make, and this low egg / short cooking time version has frustrated countless reviewers ... if you like creme brule, fine. But don't rate this recipe highly if it is unreliable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
READ THE REVIEWS FIRST!! Oh my goodness... I made it according to recipe the first time and it would not set. I went back and read all the reviews and put together the best mixture of ideas: Add one more egg (very important), Change the Oven Temperature to 325 degrees, and Change Time to 1 hour. Then, let it cool to room temperature before cooling. You can put it into the freezer for 45 mins to speed up the process or do the 4-6 hours in the fridge. After I made these adjustments, I have to say that it did turn out perfect and delicious. Hope this helps save someone else a headache!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was PERFECT, but I had to change it a bit. I cut the recipe in half and used 2 egg yolks (1.5 is not only silly, but not enough egg yolk!). I did everything else as directed... but I accidentally cooked it for an hour. I was going to for at least 40 minutes, but forgot about it. The consistencey is AMAZING. I will make this one for ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I forgot to read the reviews which I regretted later. This brulee definitely needs more eggs. Mine did not set very well but it still tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Swayzee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States