Creme Brulee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Makes a nice "light" crème brulee. Required an extra 10 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Loved it, loved it, loved it! I did add the extra egg yolk as per other reviewers, but other than that I followed the directions to the T. Best creme brulee I have ever had. I used the whites to make Authentic French Meringue cookies, also from this site, which happen to use the 4 whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I made this recipe as it was written (3 egg yolks). The creme brulee took about 75 minutes to cook and it never really set properly-- the result was not as thick as it should have been--even after it had cooled. The taste was good, but it definitely needed more eggs to make it firmer. I wish I had read the reviews before trying this recipe.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I've only tried to make creme brulee at home once (pumpkin creme brulee). It wasn't a disaster, but it wasn't super good... This one, WOW! I made it last night and let it chill over night. The custard is nice and stiff, but still perfectly creamy. I baked mine at 300 degrees for 35 minutes. The tops stayed uncracked and the taste and texture are spot on. (Unlike the pumpkin which took longer to cook and was still a little loose) I also like that you don't need a ton of egg yolks to get that texture. 3 works just fine and you don't get that "eggy" taste you do with some other bain marie custards that call for more yolks. (I try to tell my self this makes this recipe a little "light" LOL!) I did heat my cream with a vanilla bean thrown in, just because I love vanilla. I didn't scrape the seeds, but did also add the extract. I don't know if this made it more vanilla-y, but I'd like to think it did. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Westie's Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Best recipe for this dish I have found. It never disappoints. I tried so many others and was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Simple and Fantastic! Followed recipe as stated. Cooking technique: used large roasting pan with the kitchen towel in the bottom of it (and boiled water). To prevent (or help) condensation forming on the Crème Brulee's in the refrigerator, I placed stretch wrap directly over/on the top of each. Have made three times thus far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina_Papou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Sorry - it just isn't a good recipe. The cream will not set when made according to directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
WOW ! This turned out great . Really easy to make , really tasty to eat. The only bad part was having to be patient and wait for it to cool down to eat ! haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGUTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lutz, Florida, USA
Living In: Odessa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made it twice. Ruined it second time because I watched timer vs checking that custard was set before I took it out of oven. Chilled it and it was runny. Like to add candied ginger for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States