Creme Brulee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
Makes a superb dessert, I tried it the first time as you suggested and loved it. I then added 1 tsp. Napoleon Brandy (with the eggs and vanilla) and enjoyed that a little more. I plan on attempting two tsp. brandy and also lining the bottom of the ramekin with raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
I added one extra egg yolk and also salted the water bath to adjust for our high altitude (4200ft) and it worked out perfectly- wonderful recipe- as good as any I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
Really easy and delicious. I poured Grand Marnier liquer over, just before serving it. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2001
I used 3 10 oz ramekins since I didn't have any 8 oz. Plus my water boiled over so it took almost twice as long to bake, but it was worth it. Such a wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2001
I made this recipe for 19 people. everyone raved about it. defineitly restuarant quality. I am very happy we tried it. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
This is a great recipe, BUT, written here pretty poorly. I recommend going slowly and adding common sense before following the recipe word for word...otherwise, you may end up with a flopped brulee. It does taste great, and if you don't mind figuring out the recipe, definately try this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
The custard just would not turn out. It was soupy. It did however have a very nice flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
incredibly easy and very good am having fun experimenting with different flavors!! Don't be afraid this is the one to try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This is wonderful! I did have to almost double the baking time, but I used one larger container instead of the 4 smaller ones. A 12 year old neighbor made this for New Year's Eve last year and it didn't set up properly (she used one medium casserole dish instead of ramikins and probably didn't adjust the baking time) so she put it in the freezer. It was the absolute BEST vanilla 'ice cream' I've ever had! I made this along with 'Apple Spice Dump Cake' also found on this site and it was pure heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINIVANMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
Used one baking dish instead of four. It would NOT set until it had been baking 1 hour and 10 minutes (and we're not a high altitude). Just before we served it we tried to burn the sugar with a propane torch. That also took much longer than expected (at least 5 mins), and it still wouldn't completely brown. The heat from the torch effectively melted the custard, though. The taste was okay, but definately not worth the effort or the fat. I made the mistake of trying this recipe out on company. Would suggest increasing the number of yolks to make it less soupy, decreasing the sugar on top to melt faster, and testing the recipe ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States