Creme Brulee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Meiling206
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was just ok. The recipe can be better. The custard flavor was lacking, I'm just not sure what, but could definitely use more flavor. I will definitely be experimenting with this recipe to reflect my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meiling206

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I also used 4 egg yolks and didn't cover the pan with a foil. I baked it for about 30 minutes and it came out delicious. My family and friends loved it. This is one of the easiest desserts to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This elegant dessert is a breeze to make. No one would guess it would take less than 10 minutes to prepare! I use 4 egg yolks like others here and bake it for 45 minutes. I also use less sugar on the top because personally I don't like a thick layer of caramelized sugar. Plus, I find it's harder to torch and keep it from burning if there's a thicker layer. This is my go-to recipe when I'm looking to impress guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
After reading the other reviews I know why mine didn't set properly. Not enough egg yolks. The flavour was good and so we used it as a custard with berries. I'll give it another try with more yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good dessert. We made this when I met my girlfriend's parents for the first time. After all, you only get one chance to impress the parents! I think the recipe has been updated based on the reviews because the custard did set for me. Though I did have to increase the cook time by about 15 minutes for a total of about 45 minutes. I didn't have a torch so I used the broiler with only half of the sugar topping. The oven broiler worked well, but be aware that it will also heat up the custard. I may try the torch if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
The first time I made this (with ingredient changes of whipping cream rather than heavy cream and 4 egg yokes rather than 3) I used a single serving pan (actually used a 9X9 metal pan for the Brulee and a large metal pan for the water bath)and baked it for 45 minutes it came out PERFECT! I just repeated the same but put the Brulee into 6 ramkins which just filled all of them. After baking, however, I have lost 1/2 of all the Brulee. Possibly, the 45 mins was too long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I too, upped the amount of egg yolks. Lovely creamy texture...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
EXCELLENT! I have made this recipe dozens of times, and would recommend a few modifications. Use 4 egg yolks so it will set up firmer. Substitute a real vanilla bean for the extract. It is not necessary to boil the water for the baking dish, and I never cover it with foil because I need to be able to see when it jiggles right. Make sure to bake it long enough, and if you double the recipe then bake 35-40 min at 325 F. And (important) use raw cane sugar instead of white sugar for the caramelized crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
THIS IS SO DELICIOUS!!! My husband took me out to eat and this was the first time I had cream brulee. I came home looked for the recipe and now I'm making my own. When buying a piece for almost $10 I can make 4 remikins at home for less than $5. The only thing is that I need to get a kitchen torch cause the broiler will not brown sugar. Looking into invest in a kitchen torch to make some for parties. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodguru
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
thanks for sharing this recipe. i added an extra egg yolk and baked it for 45 mintues. it came out delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodguru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States