Creme Brulee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I also used 4 egg yolks and didn't cover the pan with a foil. I baked it for about 30 minutes and it came out delicious. My family and friends loved it. This is one of the easiest desserts to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This elegant dessert is a breeze to make. No one would guess it would take less than 10 minutes to prepare! I use 4 egg yolks like others here and bake it for 45 minutes. I also use less sugar on the top because personally I don't like a thick layer of caramelized sugar. Plus, I find it's harder to torch and keep it from burning if there's a thicker layer. This is my go-to recipe when I'm looking to impress guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
After reading the other reviews I know why mine didn't set properly. Not enough egg yolks. The flavour was good and so we used it as a custard with berries. I'll give it another try with more yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good dessert. We made this when I met my girlfriend's parents for the first time. After all, you only get one chance to impress the parents! I think the recipe has been updated based on the reviews because the custard did set for me. Though I did have to increase the cook time by about 15 minutes for a total of about 45 minutes. I didn't have a torch so I used the broiler with only half of the sugar topping. The oven broiler worked well, but be aware that it will also heat up the custard. I may try the torch if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
The first time I made this (with ingredient changes of whipping cream rather than heavy cream and 4 egg yokes rather than 3) I used a single serving pan (actually used a 9X9 metal pan for the Brulee and a large metal pan for the water bath)and baked it for 45 minutes it came out PERFECT! I just repeated the same but put the Brulee into 6 ramkins which just filled all of them. After baking, however, I have lost 1/2 of all the Brulee. Possibly, the 45 mins was too long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I too, upped the amount of egg yolks. Lovely creamy texture...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
EXCELLENT! I have made this recipe dozens of times, and would recommend a few modifications. Use 4 egg yolks so it will set up firmer. Substitute a real vanilla bean for the extract. It is not necessary to boil the water for the baking dish, and I never cover it with foil because I need to be able to see when it jiggles right. Make sure to bake it long enough, and if you double the recipe then bake 35-40 min at 325 F. And (important) use raw cane sugar instead of white sugar for the caramelized crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
THIS IS SO DELICIOUS!!! My husband took me out to eat and this was the first time I had cream brulee. I came home looked for the recipe and now I'm making my own. When buying a piece for almost $10 I can make 4 remikins at home for less than $5. The only thing is that I need to get a kitchen torch cause the broiler will not brown sugar. Looking into invest in a kitchen torch to make some for parties. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodguru
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
thanks for sharing this recipe. i added an extra egg yolk and baked it for 45 mintues. it came out delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodguru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This is a great recipe but because I don't like the heavy egg tasted, this is perfect. Just like any reciepe you have to decide you want more or less of anything you put in it. On this one don't use as much sugar, that way the creme will set and wont look like liquid after 45mins of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States