Creme Brulee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
On my first trial the custard didn't set all the way. The times were followed exactly. The sugar topping was also inconsistent. On the second try, I added another yolk (4 total) and decreased the sugar topping to ~ 1.5 tsp. It came out perfectly; the custard set and the sugar melted quickly and predictably. I also let the ramekins cool to room temp before putting in the fridge to avoid condensation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Very very good creme brulee. I tried this for the first time and it came out perfect. Very tasty. Thank you Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hawi, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
The custard didn't congeal for me, I'm not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
It came out Ok but did not really taste like creme brulee. I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I tried this recipe because it was so different from the one I usually make. (From the book, Elegantly Easy Creme Brulee.) First of all, it lacks enough eggs to make it a rich creamy custard. There was hardly an egg flavor at all. And the stovetop step is not needed. The recipe I use takes the cold cream right from the icebox and mixes it with the sugar/egg mixture. I'll just stick to my tried and true recipe from the book. (2 cups cream, 1/3 cup sugar, 1 teas. vanilla, 8 egg yolks...and no pre-cooking before it goes into the oven.) Also, brown sugar is so hard to work with...I would only use white sugar for the topping. I'm sure you meant butane, not propane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
It's really good. It does need an hour to set good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
This recipe worked out wonderfully for me. I did not make any changes - I simply used my broiler at the end and I loved it. If it was a lighter dessert I'd have it more often but I will definitely make it again!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Good recipe, however you forgot to mention that the baking pan should be covered loosely with foil before putting into the oven. Otherwise, the custard tops will be brown and when it cools down, it becomes soggy. Not a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
This is a great recipe. Very delicious! Very easy to make. However, it did take almost an hour to bake. Other than that, this is a really good recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
This turned out just awful. I even tried making it a second time - same results. Wouldn't set. I even baked it 1 hr and 10 minutes, and it still wouldn't set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States