Creme Brulee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Like another reviewer, I had used 8 yolks and 1/3 cup sugar in previous trial. The 8 yolks add the egg taste to the custard. I have tried pre cooking and not. The Pre cooking tends to reduce amount of foaming of mixture and reduces need to strain the mixture before pouring into ramekins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
It came out great. The only reason I didn't rate it "5" is because I had to make modifictions several others suggested. I added an additional egg yolk and used real vanilla bean instead. I also baked it longer. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
It was delicious but I usually like it thicker. I thought it was a bit too cremey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
I had never made creme brulee before, had always been intimidated by the idea. This recipe was simple and perfect. Increased to 4 eggs and little longer baking time but came out perfect. Will definatly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This recipe is very simple but it does need 4 egg yokes to get it to set up. I've made it twice now. The first time with 4 yokes and it set up fine. The second time I only used 3 and it was soupy. Both times I baked it for 45 minutes. I will make again but will always use 4 yokes. Otherwise it's a five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Very easy recipe, The recipe calls for 2 cups of heavy cream, I only had 1 cup so I substitued 1 cup of evaporated milk and 1 extra egg yolk. It set perfectly. It was delicious.I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
I have always wanted to make Creme Brulee, and this recipe looked so easy, it seemed there must be something wrong with it. But there wasn't! It was excellent! I substituted Splenda for the sugar in the custard, but kept sugar for the topping. I also added an extra egg yoke as recommended by others. Turned out WONDERFUL! I broiled the topping, but next time I will torch it (once I buy one) to get a more even appearance. Yum!! Not sure how others screwed it up so much, since it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
This recipe is perfect if you are on a low carb diet. All you have to do is substitute the sugar for splenda and it tastes great. It is so simple and easy I make it at least twice a week. But make sure to use real sugar on the top because splenda just blows away and burns. This recipe is wonderful the best I have found, I would encourage anyone to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
I haven't made this person's recipe, but I have made Creme Brulee a number of times at a restaraunt. Some observations; 1. Seems light on the eggs. If I were making this would probably add 1 more yolk. Three yolks might be fine. Trial and error. 2. Cover pan with foil? Seems unneccesary, though it might just be an aid to cut down on overall baking time which I expected to be closer to 35-40 minutes. I usually leave them in the oven until the custard tops set and start to show signs of developing darker spots on top. The spots become unnoticible (irrelevant) after you caramelize the sugar on top. 3. Unless you caramelize the sugar on top it's not really creme brulee'. This step is done only when you are about to serve this dessert. Doing it beforehand and putting it in the fridge is an unpleasant experience (sugar becomes liquified). Use enough sugar (white or turbinado) on top or your ramekin to get a nice light covering (you should still be able to see the custard). Light your torch and start melting the sugar on top in a circular motion. You're not done until the sugar has gotten bubbly and brown. Garnish & Serve! Note: With this recipe, you could substitute the vanilla extract for 1/2 a vanilla bean. Add the split bean & scraped seeds to the heated milk, not the egg mixture. Remove the bean shell before adding to egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
this was really great. my only problem was that accidently poured some boiling water into one of the ramikins while pouring the boiling water in the baking pan. Oh well, i'll try harder next time (there will be a next time!). Otherwise, awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States