Creme Brulee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I used the 4 egg yolks, baked about 5 minutes longer than suggested and strained the mixture (with a fine mesh hand held sieve) before pouring into the ramekins. I am glad I strained it because there were some lumps that would have been less than appetizing. It turned out absolutely wonderful with these recommended steps. A five star taste, but I gave the recipe 4 stars because of the necessary modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I added the extra egg yolk and baked it for an additional 20 minutes (45 total). I baked two recipes, one with the damp kitchen cloth (which I found odd) and one without. I did the water bath to both. Both turned out with the same consistency. I also topped and broiled one with white sugar and one with brown sugar. The brown sugar turned out better. We all loved the flavor! Would do it again. 4 stars because of the adaptations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIGOHANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
I really enjoyed this recipe. I added an extra egg yolk as suggested by other reviews, and I also baked my custard in one 9 inch pie dish (due to the lack of ramequins in my collegiate apartment). Because I did not intend to serve this all at once (however tempting), I had to improvise with the crust. We buttered and sugared a piece of aluminum foil (you could even sugar it in a shape for aesthetics), placed it on a cookie sheet, and broiled it for a minute. We spooned the custard into bowls and added the carmelized sugar on top. Not as pretty perhaps, but it worked and was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Deee-licious! But let me warn you, I followed others advice and used 4 egg yolks instead of 3. Please do this. It was the PERFECT consistency! It was wonderful, it was heavenly ... and it was simple! I would make it everyday if I didn't mind gaining weight :) I served it to 7 people and everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
I had to add extra egg and let it bake longer to get it to set but it was easy and yummy....I will definatley make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I made this recipe for 18 people. I was making two desserts for a holiday meal so I put the custard into smaller ramekins than the recipe called for hoping to make a smaller version of creme brulee; big mistake! If you are going to make the effort to make this recipe I would say either make a huge creme brulee that you can put individual portions onto a plate or follow the recipe. I used ramekins that were too shallow which made it difficult to put into a water bath and to remove from a water bath without spilling them. Additionally, I was hoping to make a thicker sugar topping so I added the tablespoon to my smaller ramekins and two things happened that I didn't anticipate: 1) the sugar took longer to carmelize which cause the custard to bubble causing them to loose their perfectly smooth surface and 2) the sugar mixed with the custard making it too sweet for my taste. Anyhow, I tasted the custard prior to the sugar and it was perfection so if you don't deviate from the recipe I think this recipe is easy and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This is sooo good, it's been my dessert obsession since I first made it almost three months ago. Now I make it about two times a month. It's so good and so easy. Putting just a bit of jam, raspberry is good, at the bottom of the ramekins before putting the mixture in is very nice. I also tried one with a little bit of orange juice and rind for an orange cream flavour, that was ok too...just watch how much rind you use. Again, this is such a delicious dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Guys! This is the easiest dessert to make for your sweetie and I have always recieved rave reviews whenever I make it. Mmmm Mmmm good. An excellent and simple recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This was my first time making creme brule and it was wonderful! I did take the advise of some of the other reviews and added an extra egg yoke, more vannila, and I cooked it a little longer. All in all it turned out great and was really easy. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Unfortunately, I didn't read the reviews before making this and therefore didn't include enough eggs. I scaled the recipe to make 5 servings and used 4 eggs as called for. Despite cooking for 1 hour, they did not set. Disappointing....the recipe should really be changed to reflect the correct number of eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States