Creme Brulee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Great Brulee Brian! I used five yolks and decided to turn this into a chocolate dessert. To the cream I added 2 ounces of unsweetened cocoa powder and 1 ounce of unsweetened dark bakers chocolate. Like the directions say, make sure you temper your eggs by adding the hot cream a little bit at a time so your eggs don't scramble. The family had a blast using the little torch to carmalize the sugar on top! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was so simple ! I'm amazed. I made this before I had read all the reviews- so I did not add the extra egg yolk. It tuned out just fine. It set great- although a little more on the pudding side rather than custard ( next time I will try the extra yolk) I did use a torch rather than the broiler. I will definatly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I followed the advice of the other makers and used 4 eggs yolks. However, I double the recipe (using 8 egg yolks). I used one Calphalon metal 13x9 tray and one Pyrex glass cassarole. The ramekins in the baking dish turned out great. The ramekins in the glass would not set, and it did not matter how long I let it bake. For everyone having a problem with the recipe not setting, make sure to use a metal bakeware. I am sure that was the problem because the ingredients were exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Great recipe. I received great comments on it. I brolied the white sugar topping in the oven for a few minutes- watch it carefully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAPATTEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Hey! This is a tasty recipe. I have been taking pastry classes and I discoved something. Chef's recomend NOT to use brown sugar on top because of the moisture content and it affects overall appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Very nice. I added the extra yolk, as others suggested, and made twice the amount to serve 10. I cheated with the topping (being short of time), making toffee in a saucepan and then drizzling over the top of the brulee (room temperature) before serving. It did go crisp and was certainly pretty, but probably wasn't as nice as the kitchen torch method. I also topped it with a dollop of double cream, blueberries and strawberries on the side. I'll definitely make it again. Thanks for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This was wonderful! I followed the advice of the other reviewers and used 4 eggs rather than 3. It turned out just perfect, it was smooth and tasty. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Ingredient wise I followed the recipe exactly. I did not use the towel, I only covered it with foil for half the cooking time and I baked for about 50 minutes and it turned out perfectly. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I have been making this recipe for about 2 years, and LOVE it - I also use 4 egg yolks and a little more vanilla, and it turns out perfectly every time. I have never had to strain the mixture as others have mentioned - the trick is to continually and vigorously whisk the egg mixture while SLOWLY incorporating the hot cream a tiny bit at a time; otherwise, the hot cream will cook the eggs and you will end up with lumps. Also make sure to use a thin layer of sugar, or it will not caramelize properly - I personally find white sugar to work best. This is my dessert recipe of choice to serve to dinner guests! I think it is every bit as good as the creme brulee served in most restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Bow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
this recipe is fabulous! I used four egg yolks instead of three, as the other reviewers suggested & the consistency was perfect. It wasn't lumpy at all, when I combined the yolks with the cream. I just put the yolks into my Kitchenaid mixer & turned it on low while I added the cream. I also used brown sugar instead of white to top it, though either would work. The taste was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States