Creme Brulee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
So simple yet decadent and impressive! Loved this recipe, will make it again for sure. I did the original vanilla brulee, then I also made a lemon-ginger brulee by throwing in lemon peel and a peice of ginger when boiling the cream and an almond version where I simply substituted the vanilla for almond extract. Get creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOOD_DIVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Wonderful recipe! I've made this several times and it's come out wonderful each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I followed the suggestions to add the extra yolk and increase the baking time and it came out great! Definitely better than paying $10 for it at a restaurant. I like a stronger vanilla flavor so I think I'll add a bit more next time and play around with other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Excellent recipe. My changes were: I used a single souffle dish instead of four individual dishes. It baked for 55 minutes before it was set. (I turned it up from 300 to 325 for the final 10 minutes.) I sprinkled half brown sugar and the other half white sugar and I'd say the brown sugar looked better and browned better under the broiler. Also, before pouring the mixture into the souffle dish, I melted chocolate chips and spread them in the bottom and sides of the dish so the chocolate suprise added a special flavor and treat while eating the dessert. I also used 4 egg yolks rather than 3. Killer recipe with no chance of left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Delicious and easy to make for a simple dessert. I like to leave the sugar off the top, as it is great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This was awesome. My boyfriend is a MAJOR cooking snob and he was SO down on me when I said I was going to make creme brulee. He basically laughed in my face and said "impossible". Whit this recipe, it IS possible. I followed the reviews and made it with 4 eggs, and I also upped the cooking time to EXACTLY 45 minutes. It couldn't have come out more perfect. He was definitely eating his words and I got a huge apology. This is going to be SO great to make at dinner parties and such, as it will SUPER impress. I gave it 4 stars ONLY because of the edits that it needed. Stick the the 4 egg yolks and 45 minutes and you'll be SET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Wow this recipe is great! It was my first time making creme brulee. I added an extra yolk, and extra teaspoon of vanilla, and baked for 45 minutes. It turned out perfectly. I Will definatly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I love this recipe. Very simple, and it usually turns out wonderfully. Unfortunately, I made it for 6 people tonight and I forgot to increase the cooking time for the extra custard to set. It looked runny when I took it out of the oven after 30 minutes, so I should have known. I hoped it would set in the fridge but it didn't. So if you increase serving size, remember to increase oven time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Great recipe. My friends love it. A little bit heavy. I forgot foil shield, the surface has bubble and appears hard. Will make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Easy and delicious. Using a torch works best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States