Creme Brulee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This is the first time I have ever made creme brulee. I gave this a four because I, like others, altered the recipe. After reading the other reviews and recipes on other web sites, I used 1/2 cup sugar and 8 egg yolks. The recipe turned out divine. I was happy I attempted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This was an excellent Creme Brulee. Almost like resturant's. I added an extra egg, to keep it firm. I'll be using this one for all my special occaions! Great Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evilsavy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I had never made creme brulee before using this recipe, tho I've eaten many times in restaurants and at a friend's who makes it often using a recipe from a French friend's grandmother. Everyone raved even the friends who have eaten the Frenchman's recipe for it. So I have only good things to say about this recipe. I followed it exactly. I'm making it again next week for a Christmas dinner party. Sure hope I'm as lucky with this batch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was awful, worse than the ones you buy frozen in the grocery store. I suggest using the recipe in the review by ILOVETOLUNCH, thats a fantastic recipe. Also because her recipe has more yolks, you can cook it for about 35-40 minutes longer at 200 degrees and eat it warm but not runny. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FYRECRACKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was very GOOD. I didn't give it 5 because like everyone else I altered the recipe. I added 5 egg yolks and a little ameretto. I came out very creamy and tasty. Good starter recipe to add on. I use a butane torch to create the yummy, crunchy crust. We top it with fresh berries (raspberries, black berries etc..) with a little licquor of your choice added. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I lost my regular creme brulee recipe, so decided to try another one. I used 4 egg yolks (instead of 3) after reading other people's suggestions. It tasted very "eggy" and didn't have a smooth, creamy consistency. Not sure if making the recipe as written would have improved the flavor/consistency, but won't make again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This recipes came out perfect. Sfter reading the other suggestions, I made some changes. I used only 1 and 2/3 cups of whipping cream and I used 4 egg yolks. I also cooked it for 45 minutes. In my opinion 1 tbsp of sugar on top was too much. The custard turned out perfect though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I have never tried to make nor have eaten Creme Brulee before. I tried this recipe as is for 4 servings. I baked for the 30 min without the foil cover and it set up well. Once I put the ramekins in the fridge to finish setting a layer of grease solified on top. I scraped that off and I enjoyed it better. I tried carmelizing the sugar with a torch and ended up with a butane aftertaste. I will broil from now on. I enjoyed the flavoring suggestions and how to go about having a variety of flavors to choose from in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This turned out great! Yes, you have to add more eggs to get the right texture. I used 8 egg yolks for 6 servings. Skip the step with the foil and make sure they set for at least 5 or 6 hours. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
The previous reviews helped a lot and I did add an extra egg yolk and more vanilla to the recipe. Turned out awesome. I think I'll add 5 eggs instead of 3/4 next time to get a thicker consistency. Other than that, the recipe is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States