Creme Brulee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This is the first time I have ever made creme brulee. I gave this a four because I, like others, altered the recipe. After reading the other reviews and recipes on other web sites, I used 1/2 cup sugar and 8 egg yolks. The recipe turned out divine. I was happy I attempted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This was an excellent Creme Brulee. Almost like resturant's. I added an extra egg, to keep it firm. I'll be using this one for all my special occaions! Great Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evilsavy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I had never made creme brulee before using this recipe, tho I've eaten many times in restaurants and at a friend's who makes it often using a recipe from a French friend's grandmother. Everyone raved even the friends who have eaten the Frenchman's recipe for it. So I have only good things to say about this recipe. I followed it exactly. I'm making it again next week for a Christmas dinner party. Sure hope I'm as lucky with this batch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was awful, worse than the ones you buy frozen in the grocery store. I suggest using the recipe in the review by ILOVETOLUNCH, thats a fantastic recipe. Also because her recipe has more yolks, you can cook it for about 35-40 minutes longer at 200 degrees and eat it warm but not runny. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FYRECRACKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was very GOOD. I didn't give it 5 because like everyone else I altered the recipe. I added 5 egg yolks and a little ameretto. I came out very creamy and tasty. Good starter recipe to add on. I use a butane torch to create the yummy, crunchy crust. We top it with fresh berries (raspberries, black berries etc..) with a little licquor of your choice added. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I lost my regular creme brulee recipe, so decided to try another one. I used 4 egg yolks (instead of 3) after reading other people's suggestions. It tasted very "eggy" and didn't have a smooth, creamy consistency. Not sure if making the recipe as written would have improved the flavor/consistency, but won't make again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This recipes came out perfect. Sfter reading the other suggestions, I made some changes. I used only 1 and 2/3 cups of whipping cream and I used 4 egg yolks. I also cooked it for 45 minutes. In my opinion 1 tbsp of sugar on top was too much. The custard turned out perfect though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I have never tried to make nor have eaten Creme Brulee before. I tried this recipe as is for 4 servings. I baked for the 30 min without the foil cover and it set up well. Once I put the ramekins in the fridge to finish setting a layer of grease solified on top. I scraped that off and I enjoyed it better. I tried carmelizing the sugar with a torch and ended up with a butane aftertaste. I will broil from now on. I enjoyed the flavoring suggestions and how to go about having a variety of flavors to choose from in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This turned out great! Yes, you have to add more eggs to get the right texture. I used 8 egg yolks for 6 servings. Skip the step with the foil and make sure they set for at least 5 or 6 hours. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
The previous reviews helped a lot and I did add an extra egg yolk and more vanilla to the recipe. Turned out awesome. I think I'll add 5 eggs instead of 3/4 next time to get a thicker consistency. Other than that, the recipe is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States