Creme Brulee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Not good. It was way too runny and had little flavor. The only saving grace was I wanted to make it seasonal so I added peppermint schnapps which gave it some great flavor. It also took forever to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This was Fantastic!it was my first time but thisrecipewas very easy and turned out delicious!i listened to the others and used 4 egg yolks and i did have tobake it about 10 min longer.(i used porcelain container)thanks!!Carl??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I liked this recipe as a start - but succeeded only bc of reading other reviews. Four yolks is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I give this a rating based on making it as the recipe was written. I baked these for over an hour hoping they would firm up more and it never happened. This was a waste of time for me. Adding more egg yolks might help next time, but then it would be a different recipe, right? I'll keep searching for a creme brulee recipe that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was absolutely delicious! Because I raise my own chickens and get a dozen eggs a day, I went ahead and increased the egg yolks to 4. Everything else was followed exactly. We used a torch to brown the sugar on top, and the crème remained cold underneath it. The crème was delicate and oh, so good. I recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This recipe is excellent. Everybody loves it. But I suggest you leave the creme brulee in the oven for a little over 35 minutes and check it once in awhile for a jiggle. 4 yolks, just like everybody said, is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
easy to follow instructions, and creates a great dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
besides the sugar getting burnt and catching a flame. it was pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robo :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I'm glad I read a good number of member comments before starting this and it turned out great! Here's what I did (which repeats what many others have said): - 4 egg yolks, not 3 - used whipping cream instead of heavy cream, the consistency of the custard (more below) came out pretty much like high end restaurants - baked for 45min - used a metal baking pan (I actually don't know if this really makes a difference, but apparently it did for one person who used both a metal and glass baking pan at the same time) Like I said, the consistency came out great and after chilling, I actually thought it seemed too firm. BUT, once you caramelize the top and apply heat to it, it's perfect. Don't put too much sugar on top (1 tblspoon is too much) and don't caramelize it for TOO long. It shouldn't be too hard that you can't break it and flake it easily with a spoon, but should still be crispy. Also, I think fruit on top helps a lot. The best part is that it really impresses the ladies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I loved this recipe. I did add an extra yolk based on reading the other reviews. It turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States