Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Made this recipe for breakfast for a weekend with friends. It was a huge hit, everyone wanted the recipe. Delicious and would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Made this for the first time for my Mother's Day brunch and it was a big hit!!! I was even asked for the recipe. I did make one change, I used maple syrup instead of corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This is a great recipe. First time I made it I had cut the crusts off and the bread was a little thinner than 1". I had soggy bread. I made it today for Mother's Day and used 1" French bread and left the crust on. Made a huge difference. No soggy bread. Consistency was perfect. I did however not melt the brown sugar enough before I put it in the pan. Came out with a gritty texture but flavourful. Next time I will dissolve the sugar better and flip the toast over to finish it off as others have suggested. Thank you Sandi for submitting this. It is now my go-to recipe for brunches and special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
We loved it! fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Agnieszka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I made this for Sunday brunch this weekend. I needed to make 2 pans of the french toast and so I used the recipe calculator to increase the servings & adjust the ingredients. What a fiasco. The brown sugar/butter mixture to pour on the bottom was just barely enough to cover the bottom of the pans. I used the amounts of other ingredients in the amounts the on-line calculator listed. It called for 9 1/4 eggs! The adjusted recipe made way, way too much egg mixture. I poured it in both pans to cover the bread & I still had enough left over to fill a 3rd pan. I refrigerated overnight & in the morning the bread was still sitting in the egg mixture to the level of half way up the bread. Since others had complained about it being too custardy, I poured off some of the egg mixture. It took longer to cook than the directions said but I watched it carefully for the extra 5 minutes. It was brown & puffy on top but when I served it, It had a layer of "jelly" on the bottom. The adults ate it politely but my 2- twenty somethings only had a couple bites. And they are not picky eaters. They will & do eat almost anything & everything. NEXT TIME I will make much less of the egg mixture and probably turn the toast half way through so both sides get crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I made this recipe for Easter brunch. It was very yummy. I did read reviews beforehand and made a couple changes but next time I will follow the recipe as is with the exception of leaving the crust on the bread and adding orange peel like the video indicated. I had made it with one less egg and only 1 cup of cream. Didn't think it had enough egg mixture so that goes to show you sometimes you should just follow the recipe. I didn't have any orange based liqueur so used just regular brandy. The french toast came out crispy and yummy, Thanks Sandipants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Made this for Easter brunch and it was a hit! I liked that I could make it the night before and just pop it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This recipie is outstanding ! Great reviews from my guests at Easter brunch. I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and only added 3/4 cup brown sugar ands Tbs of maple syrup instead of corn syrup. Also I went a little heavy on the Orange liquor and it was delish! I also layered some of the bread to fit more in and just cut into it like a bread pudding. It was perfect, thanks for a great recipie !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Shared this for Easter Sunday brunch at church!! Everyone loved it and wants the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This recipe is easily enhanced by putting a layer of thinly sliced apples in the dish on top of the brown sugar/butter/syrup mixture - before you add the bread and custard mixture. To keep the apples from oxidizing, I tossed them in the Grand Marnier, while I completed the other steps of the recipe. I think of this as the Tarte Tatin version. Next week, instead of apples and Grand Marnier, I'll use bananas and rum - for the Bananas Foster version. I used home made sandwich bread and the one inch thick slices were a bit too thick - for my taste - and the next time will use thinner slices. This is a superb recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States