Creme Brulee Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Was origanilly 4* but after making some changes the second time I made it, it definately turned into 5*'s+ > I sprayed the bottom + sides of 9 inch springform pan with cook spray. Pressed the crust up the sides about an inch & 1/2 (alittle thinner on the sides than the bottom.)Definatley use butter in the crust. Couldn't find French vanilla pudding so I did add an xtra 1/2 t. of vanilla to the crust & I upped the brown sugar to 3 Tablespoons. Took about 1/2 cup of chopped up Heath candy bar and gently pushed it into the top of the crust. > I added a Tablespoon of flour to the cream cheese mixture, needed to be alittle firmer. Cooked for 45 minutes @ 350 then sprinkled another cup or so of crushed Heath candy bar on top of cheesecake, but not on the edge of the crust. Turned oven off and left in oven for an additional 15 minutes. Refrigerated in pan till cooled. (at least 5 hours or overnight) Released sides and gently ran spatula under bottom crust to release cheesecake. What a great chocolate Creme Brulee flavor & beautiful presentation. Next time I will double up filling and make a little taller in a 10 inch springform and use for holiday dessert. ENJOY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rouxdat
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
These are amazing! They are the perfect mix between cheesecake and creme brulee and sooo easy to make! I did not use the toffee bits because I could not find them, instead I sprinkled an even layer of sugar on top after it had cooled in the fridge and just before serving and used a blow torch as you would when making creme brulee. I would recommend checking it after 25 minutes as the edges got pretty brown on mine. Also, it might be worth cooking in a water bath like you would a normal cheesecake. These were a huge hit and everyone was very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These creme brulee cheesecake bars are great. A few adjustments: I used twice the toffee bits to sprinkle on top. And even more importantly, I will use a traditional graham cracker crust the next time I make these. The current sugar cookie crust is much, much too rich, and it deflects from the light yumminess of the cheesecake filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
These were awesome!! I actually had a bag of Heath toffee bits for the topping but I did use my rolling pin to crush them a little more. I also made it a little less fattening by using light sour cream and light cream cheese. Just a tip: Let them cool completely before covering them with foil or plastic wrap and refrigerating them. The heat causes condensation to form and if it runs off onto the bars it makes the topping look like a soggy mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
No changes, other than using Krusteaz sugar cookie mix instead of Betty Crocker. These were excellent--my husband gave them 10 stars, although way too rich for my taste. This is an easy & delicious keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very good, accidentally bought the toffee bits with chocolate on them, other than that, followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Sinfully good and super easy. Cooling on the counter as I type and I had to taste test! I put toffee pieces only on half as many reviews said they tend to get soggy. This looks to be a great dessert for our New Years Day dinner. I love the cookie crust and did press it a bit up the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These were good but I thought the crust was to tough. The taste was great but I think next time I will try adding a whole egg to see if it improves the texture of the crust. Still have some left over in the fridge so that means hubby wasn't overly thrilled with the recipe. I used Heath bars chopped in my food processor, worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These were one of the best cheesecake bars I've ever had. The cookie crust was a nice touch and the sour cream made the filling very creamy. Definately making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I get recipes from this site weekly and have never before felt a need to comment, but in this instance I want to. I was really excited about making these, but was so disappointed in the result. I bake all the time, so while it could have been user error, I don't really think it was. I agree with a previous reviewer, the flavor is very much one of "imitation", even the cheesecake layer. My family didn't eat more than one bite, and felt like it might be the worst dessert I've ever served. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States