Creme Brulee Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by rouxdat
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
These are amazing! They are the perfect mix between cheesecake and creme brulee and sooo easy to make! I did not use the toffee bits because I could not find them, instead I sprinkled an even layer of sugar on top after it had cooled in the fridge and just before serving and used a blow torch as you would when making creme brulee. I would recommend checking it after 25 minutes as the edges got pretty brown on mine. Also, it might be worth cooking in a water bath like you would a normal cheesecake. These were a huge hit and everyone was very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Was origanilly 4* but after making some changes the second time I made it, it definately turned into 5*'s+ > I sprayed the bottom + sides of 9 inch springform pan with cook spray. Pressed the crust up the sides about an inch & 1/2 (alittle thinner on the sides than the bottom.)Definatley use butter in the crust. Couldn't find French vanilla pudding so I did add an xtra 1/2 t. of vanilla to the crust & I upped the brown sugar to 3 Tablespoons. Took about 1/2 cup of chopped up Heath candy bar and gently pushed it into the top of the crust. > I added a Tablespoon of flour to the cream cheese mixture, needed to be alittle firmer. Cooked for 45 minutes @ 350 then sprinkled another cup or so of crushed Heath candy bar on top of cheesecake, but not on the edge of the crust. Turned oven off and left in oven for an additional 15 minutes. Refrigerated in pan till cooled. (at least 5 hours or overnight) Released sides and gently ran spatula under bottom crust to release cheesecake. What a great chocolate Creme Brulee flavor & beautiful presentation. Next time I will double up filling and make a little taller in a 10 inch springform and use for holiday dessert. ENJOY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These creme brulee cheesecake bars are great. A few adjustments: I used twice the toffee bits to sprinkle on top. And even more importantly, I will use a traditional graham cracker crust the next time I make these. The current sugar cookie crust is much, much too rich, and it deflects from the light yumminess of the cheesecake filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These are pretty good. I think if I make these again, I'll use a different crust. The crust is pretty "chewy" and a little tough. Also, the toffee bits become a little watery after refrigeration. (I used HEATH toffee bits.) These set up fairly firm, but I'd prefer them a little more firm. (Easily fixed.) Overall, my family really loves them, but I'm the one who would like to make the above changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
We all really loved these, and different from others, we really liked the crust. The only thing we didn't like was the fact, as another mentioned, that the toffee bits became watery and a little soft the second day. They were great the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
absolutely outstanding. the crust is fantastic and these are easy to make. they disappeared quickly from my countertops :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These were good but I thought the crust was to tough. The taste was great but I think next time I will try adding a whole egg to see if it improves the texture of the crust. Still have some left over in the fridge so that means hubby wasn't overly thrilled with the recipe. I used Heath bars chopped in my food processor, worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
No changes, other than using Krusteaz sugar cookie mix instead of Betty Crocker. These were excellent--my husband gave them 10 stars, although way too rich for my taste. This is an easy & delicious keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These were one of the best cheesecake bars I've ever had. The cookie crust was a nice touch and the sour cream made the filling very creamy. Definately making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
eck.. so not impressed. did not taste like cheesecake or creme brulee to me. very processed flavor overall. I'll stick to homemade desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States