Creme Brulee Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
These were awesome!! I actually had a bag of Heath toffee bits for the topping but I did use my rolling pin to crush them a little more. I also made it a little less fattening by using light sour cream and light cream cheese. Just a tip: Let them cool completely before covering them with foil or plastic wrap and refrigerating them. The heat causes condensation to form and if it runs off onto the bars it makes the topping look like a soggy mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I get recipes from this site weekly and have never before felt a need to comment, but in this instance I want to. I was really excited about making these, but was so disappointed in the result. I bake all the time, so while it could have been user error, I don't really think it was. I agree with a previous reviewer, the flavor is very much one of "imitation", even the cheesecake layer. My family didn't eat more than one bite, and felt like it might be the worst dessert I've ever served. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Kind of disappointed in these. Creme brulee being one of my all-time favorite desserts, I guess my expectations were a little high. They were tastey, but here's what took away two stars for me: the crust, as others have mentioned, was chewy-tough and did not release easily from my pan; and these didn't taste like creme brulee to me, just like vanilla cheesecake bars with toffee on top. Not that I have any problem with vanilla cheesecake, but I was expecting creme brulee, darnit! I would like this better with maybe a graham cracker crust, or just make the BK sugar cookie the way the package directs and press THAT in the bottom of the pan. Although, I doubt I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very good, accidentally bought the toffee bits with chocolate on them, other than that, followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Very easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITGREEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Frederick, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Sinfully good and super easy. Cooling on the counter as I type and I had to taste test! I put toffee pieces only on half as many reviews said they tend to get soggy. This looks to be a great dessert for our New Years Day dinner. I love the cookie crust and did press it a bit up the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Very good! i made this 2 times, once with the toffee and one time with out. Simple and delicious! crust was a little thick, so the next time i used a larger pan. It is a little hard to cut, it really needs to set out for atleast 30 minutes before slicing. The second time i set it on the stove to loosen up the crust. I will make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wcumom1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
eck.. so not impressed. did not taste like cheesecake or creme brulee to me. very processed flavor overall. I'll stick to homemade desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These were one of the best cheesecake bars I've ever had. The cookie crust was a nice touch and the sour cream made the filling very creamy. Definately making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States