Creme Anglaise II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This anglaise was wonderful over mixed berries. As another reviewer put to aptly, it thickened up beautifully and velvety smooth. This is the perfect touch to a decadent dessert or a very simple one. We prefer ours a little less sweet, so I will reduce sugar to 1/4 to 1/3 cup next time.Thanks Meshel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
Very good over fresh strawberries. I didn't have the vanilla bean, so I added a splash of vanilla extract to the egg yolks. Really good flavor and my butter was salted, but didn't seem to make a difference. Yes it's sweet but a little goes a long way. Thanks for this yummy treat Meshel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This recipe is a bit sweet. If you have a rich dessert I would suggest that you lower the sugar amount to 1/3 cup. Other than that suggestion, this Anglaise is good enough to eat all by itself. It thickened up nicely and is velvety smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I made this to put on top of bread pudding. I'd never made a vanilla sauce before, but it looked easy enough. I halved the recipe and instead of cream, I used whole (homo) milk and vanilla extract. Other reviewers said to not let it cook too long, so I watched it carefully and I also strained it before serving. It came out perfectly, even using the lower fat milk. It was delicious warm, and wonderful cold the next day. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Good, but a bit too sweet. I wish I read the previous reviews and cut down on the sugar. Rather than buying half and half I decided to use up the little bit heavy whipping cream I had left over and mixed in some lowfat milk at the very end to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
i used 2 tsp vanilla in place of the bean. same amount of sugar as i have a sweet tooth so it didn't seem like a lot. keep stirring when you pour the egg mixture into the cream mixture. stir continuously while heating. remove from heat as soon as it starts thickening. also, strain it before serving to get rid of the few lumps and to get a perfect consistency. it was the perfect accompaniment for a bread pudding i made from here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This is a lovely custard sauce. Very decadent. Mine came out too yellow - I should've known sooner that I was suppose to whip the egg yolks and sugar until almost white. My first time using vanilla bean, so there were some black specks floating - I later learnt that that was normal. Also, the heat was probably a bit too high coz the custard turned into little globs. I solved this by using a handheld blender after taking the saucepan off the stove. This made the custard sauce velvety smooth! Had this with bread pudding. Was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
It has a great flavor, mine got a tad bit too thick for my tastes, but maybe I cooked it too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
I served this over Blueberry Boy Bait. Boy! What a treat! Thanks! :-))))))) A+++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
We served this with the Autumn Cheesecake and it was so rich, it was heavenly! A definite keeper in our recipe files!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Orange Crème Anglaise

Make a simple custard sauce with cream, egg yolks, and Grand Marnier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States