Creme Anglaise II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Thickness/texture similar to pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
My first attempt at home made custard, it worked perfectly, no lumps. I served it with Bread Pudding I also from this site and they were a perfect match I did cut the sugar down a little but not much. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Absolutely delicious. Smooth and rich and divinely creamy. I made half the recipe and used half of a vanilla bean that I'd already taken the seeds from for something else. But there were still a lot of seeds left even after scraping them out, so they all went into the sauce. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Good, but a bit too sweet. I wish I read the previous reviews and cut down on the sugar. Rather than buying half and half I decided to use up the little bit heavy whipping cream I had left over and mixed in some lowfat milk at the very end to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I made this to put on top of bread pudding. I'd never made a vanilla sauce before, but it looked easy enough. I halved the recipe and instead of cream, I used whole (homo) milk and vanilla extract. Other reviewers said to not let it cook too long, so I watched it carefully and I also strained it before serving. It came out perfectly, even using the lower fat milk. It was delicious warm, and wonderful cold the next day. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This recipe had the perfect ingredient list for me -- I was looking to use up egg yolks and heavy cream. I used half heavy cream and half milk with the tablespoon of vanilla recommended by other members, and it is delicious! One note -- I wasn't sure by what the "until mixture coats the back of a metal spoon" point was, but here's my recommendation: stir until it thickens, but do not let it come to a boil. When it starts to boil, it starts to get a finely lumpy texture. I pulled it off the stove at that point, so mine isn't perfectly smooth. But it is still delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Excellent--a nice, basic creme anglaise dish that tastes exactly as it's supposed to. I used a tablespoon of real vanilla extract and that worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
absolutely to die for...an excellent balance of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This is a lovely custard sauce. Very decadent. Mine came out too yellow - I should've known sooner that I was suppose to whip the egg yolks and sugar until almost white. My first time using vanilla bean, so there were some black specks floating - I later learnt that that was normal. Also, the heat was probably a bit too high coz the custard turned into little globs. I solved this by using a handheld blender after taking the saucepan off the stove. This made the custard sauce velvety smooth! Had this with bread pudding. Was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Excellent recipe. I used it as a sauce for my banana wrapped crepe. I had sliced bananas, topped with the creme and wrapped in the crepe. I topped the crepe with the creme again and dribbled with chocolate sauce. Kids and adults love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Orange Crème Anglaise

Make a simple custard sauce with cream, egg yolks, and Grand Marnier.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States