Creme Anglaise II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made bread pudding. Made a cinnamon apple compote and then topped with the anglaise. I made enough for 130 people. They were licking their bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Perfect! It's really, really bad for you, but so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Nice directions and straightforward to prepare. Thickened nicely. Thought it tasted too "eggy" although I had no curdling or evidence of solids in my sauce. Compared ingredients to other versions (including Julia Child) and the cream in the other versions was twice the amount in this one. Think I will double the cream next time to cut back on the egg flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Used vanilla bean paste instead of the bean. Served over mixed fruit with white chocolate shards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Excellent Creme Anglaise. Very easy to make and easy to adjust....I did cut a bit of the sugar, I also scraped the vanilla bean to give it a very vanilla flavor. I also used vanilla sugar. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef4kids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This is a great creme anglaise recipe, simple and traditional. I do not buy vanilla beans so I just use pure vanilla extract. Its also important to note that you MUST heat half and half on medium heat ONLY. Same goes for the mixture after the eggs are added, keep on medium heat and STIR CONSTANTLY. Any high heat and the mixture may begin to scorch on the bottom and have lumps. I added the vanilla after removing from heat as well as about 3 tbsp of bourbon whisky. YUMM!!!! Was amazing over warm bread pudding. If you have cold bread pudding, I suggest warmiing it in the microwave for 1 1/2 minutes then add the creme anglaise cold...the bread pudding will warm up the sauce! SOOO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Such a nice flavor. I too used vanilla extract instead of a bean. Loved it on the Bread Pudding III from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Perfect. I wanted a quick and easy, yet tasty sauce to serve with some banana bread to make it a little more elegant for a dinner time dessert. This recipe was easy and quick and turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Cordes Lakes, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is a wonderful and very versatile recipe. I didn't have the vanilla bean and decided that I wanted a different flavor, so I used a butter rum extract that I recently purchased from a cake decorating store. Nummy! It kinda tasted like a butter rum Lifesaver! I spooned some on the bottom of a plate, placed a serving of bread pudding on top of it, and then drizzled all of that with a warm caramel sauce that I made. The 9x13 pan was gone in ten minutes. Thanks for such a wonderful tasting and incredibly easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Really easy to make and went great on bread pudding =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea123

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Orange Crème Anglaise

Make a simple custard sauce with cream, egg yolks, and Grand Marnier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States